Proceedings

Notice from the
Office of the Secretary

Ontario Crest

Ontario
Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
22nd Floor
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des
valeurs mobilières
de l'Ontario
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 15, 2014


Practice Guideline for French Hearings and
Consolidation of the Rules of Procedure of the Ontario
Securities Commission as of April 8, 2014



TORONTO – The Ontario Securities Commission (the “Commission”) has approved amendments to the Rules of Procedure of the Commission (2012), 35 O.S.C.B. 10071 (the “Rules”) and a practice guideline on the use of the French language in adjudicative proceedings (the “Practice Guideline”).

Practice Guideline for French Hearings

The adopted Practice Guideline is consistent with the French Language Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.32, (the “FLSA”) guarantee to every person of the right to communicate with and to receive all services in French from the Government of Ontario, its ministries and agencies, and the right to full and equal access to administrative justice services.

The Practice Guideline applies to all proceedings before the Commission where the Commission is required under the Securities Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5, as amended and the Commodity Futures Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.20, or otherwise by law, to hold a hearing or to afford to the parties to the proceeding an opportunity for a hearing before making a decision. The Practice Guideline is issued pursuant to Rule 1.3 of the Rules.

The Practice Guideline was developed in accordance with the Rules, the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.22 (the “SPPA”) and the FLSA.

Amendment of the Rules

On April 8, 2014, the Commission approved a housekeeping amendment to Rule 10.4 to direct the public to the Practice Guideline for French Hearings.

Following the introduction and successful implementation of a procedure for settlement pursuant to Rule 12, the Commission has approved a housekeeping amendment to Rule 6 to provide that a Panel that presides over a pre-hearing conference at which the parties attempt to settle any or all of the allegations shall not preside at the hearing on the merits unless the parties consent. The amendment to Rule 6 reflects the practice previously initiated and described in the Notice from the Office of the Secretary dated July 28, 2009 Re: Interim Orders, Pre-Hearing Conferences and Interlocutory Motions and is intended to assist in the just and most expeditious disposition of proceedings.

The amendments to the Rules were adopted pursuant to section 25.1 of the SPPA.

These amendments take effect immediately and apply to all proceedings before the Commission, including proceedings commenced by a Notice of Hearing issued by the Office of the Secretary prior to the adoption of the amended Rules.

Consolidation of the Rules as of April 8, 2014

There have been three previous amendments to the Rules.

The Rules came into force on April 1, 2009 ((2009), 32 O.S.C.B. 1991), and apply to all proceedings before the Commission commencing on or after that date.

The Rules were previously amended on July 20, 2010, when the Commission adopted Rule 12 concerning Settlement Agreements ((2010), 33 O.S.C.B. 6653), on August 31, 2010, when the Commission approved amendments to bring the Rules in conformity with the SPPA definition of “representative” ((2010), 33 O.S.C.B. 8017) and on October 25, 2012,  when the Commission approved a housekeeping amendment to remove a requirement that a Statement of Allegations or an application under Rule 2 be removed from the Commission’s website in the case of a withdrawal ((2012), 35 O.S.C.B. 10071).

These amendments took effect immediately and apply to all proceedings before the Commission, including proceedings commenced by a Notice of Hearing issued by the Office of the Secretary prior to the adoption of the amended Rules.

Publication of the Practice Guidelines and Rules

The Rules of Procedure (Amendment and Consolidation as of April 8, 2014) are published in the OSC Bulletin and are available on the Commission’s website.
A copy of the Commission’s Practice Guideline dated April 8, 2014 with respect to French Hearings is also available on the Commission’s website.


OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
JOSEE TURCOTTE
ACTING SECRETARY

- 30 -

 

For media inquiries:
media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca
   
Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Manager, Public Affairs
416-593-2361

Aly Vitunski
Senior Media Relations Specialist
416-593-8263

Alison Ford
Media Relations Specialist
416-593-8307

For Investor Inquiries:     OSC Contact Centre
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)

Instances

Avis du
Bureau du secrétaire

Ontario Crest

Ontario
Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
22nd Floor
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des
valeurs mobilières
de l'Ontario
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Le 15 avril 2014


Directive de pratique concernant le déroulement des audiences en français et codification des Règles de procédure de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario en date du 8 avril 2014



TORONTO – La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la « Commission ») a approuvé des modifications aux Règles de procédure de la Commission (2012), 35 O.S.C.B. 10071 (les « Règles ») et une directive de pratique sur l'utilisation de la langue française dans le cadre des instances (la « directive de pratique »).

Directive de pratique concernant le déroulement des audiences en français

La directive de pratique qui a été adoptée est conforme aux dispositions de la Loi sur les services en français, L.R.O. 1990, chap. F.32 (la « LSF »,) qui garantissent à toute personne le droit de communiquer en français et de recevoir dans cette langue tous les services qu'offrent le Gouvernement de l'Ontario, ses ministères et ses organismes ainsi que le droit de bénéficier d'un accès égal et complet aux services de justice administrative.

La directive de pratique s'applique à toutes les instances tenues devant la Commission lorsque cette dernière est obligée, aux termes de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.5, dans sa version modifiée, de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.20, ou de toute autre loi, de tenir une audience ou d'offrir aux parties d’une instance la possibilité d'avoir une audience avant de rendre une décision. La directive de pratique est publiée en vertu de la règle 1.3 des Règles.

La directive de pratique a été élaborée conformément aux Règles, à la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.22 (la « LECL ») et à la LSF.

Modification des Règles

Le 8 avril 2014, la Commission a approuvé une modification administrative de la règle 10.4 qui renvoit le public à la directive de pratique concernant le déroulement des audiences en français.

À la suite de la mise en place et de la mise en œuvre réussie d'une procédure relative aux règlements en vertu de la règle 12, la Commission a approuvé une modification administrative de la règle 6 prévoyant que le comité d’audience qui préside une conférence préparatoire à l'audience dans le cadre de laquelle les parties tentent de régler l'une ou l'ensemble des allégations ne doit pas présider l'audience sur le fond, à moins que les parties n'y consentent. La modification de la règle 6 tient compte de la pratique précédemment instaurée et décrite dans l'avis du Bureau du secrétaire daté du 28 juillet 2009 traitant des ordonnances provisoires, des conférences préparatoires à l'audience et des motions interlocutoires et vise à contribuer à la prise de décisions justes et expéditives.

Les modifications apportées aux Règles ont été adoptées aux termes de l'article 25.1 de la LECL.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur immédiatement et s'appliquent à toutes les instances devant la Commission, y compris celles qui ont été introduites par un avis d'audience émis par le Bureau du secrétaire avant l'adoption des Règles modifiées.

Codification des Règles en date du 8 avril 2014

Trois modifications ont été antérieurement apportées aux Règles.

Les Règles, qui sont entrées en vigueur le 1er avril 2009 ([2009], 32 O.S.C.B. 1991), s'appliquent à toutes les instances devant la Commission introduites à partir de cette date.

Les Règles ont été modifiées le 20 juillet 2010, lorsque la Commission a adopté la règle 12 concernant les règlements ([2010], 33 O.S.C.B. 6653), le 31 août 2010, lorsque la Commission a approuvé des modifications visant à faire en sorte que les Règles soient conformes à la définition de « représentant » au sens de la LECL ([2010], 33 O.S.C.B. 8017), et le 25 octobre 2012, lorsque la Commission a approuvé une modification administrative visant à supprimer l'exigence de retirer la déclaration des allégations ou la demande présentée en vertu de la règle 2 du site Web de la Commission advenant un retrait de celle-ci ([2012], 35 O.S.C.B. 10071).

Ces modifications sont entrées en vigueur immédiatement et s'appliquent à toutes les instances devant la Commission, y compris celles qui ont été introduites par un avis d'audience émis par le Bureau du secrétaire avant l'adoption des Règles modifiées.

Publication des directives de pratique et des Règles

Les Règles de procédure (modification et codification en date du 8 avril 2014) sont publiées dans le bulletin de la CVMO et sont accessibles sur le site Web de la Commission.
Un exemplaire de la directive de pratique de la Commission du 8 avril 2014 sur le déroulement des audiences en français est également accessible sur le site Web de la Commission.


BUREAU DU SECRÉTAIRE
JOSÉE TURCOTTE
SECRÉTAIRE INTÉRIMAIRE

- 30 -

 

Renseignements, médias :
media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca
   
Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Chef des affaires publiques
416 593-2361

Alison Ford
Spécialiste des relations avec les médias
416 593-8307

Renseignements, investisseurs :     InfoCentre de la CVMO
416 593-8314
1 877 785-1555 (sans frais)