eXtensible Business Reporting Language (XBRL) is the emerging international standard for filing and analyzing financial information. The technology is designed to make it easier for investors, analysts and others to access and analyze the financial data related to securities.

Public companies can use XBRL to file quarterly financial information. Using XBRL can increase the speed of handling financial data, reduce errors and simplify data analysis. In turn, investors could benefit from more transparent disclosure of financial information and improved access to more manageable information, rather than having to wade through a mass of data and documents.

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) has established a program to allow issuers to voluntarily file their financial statements in XBRL format on SEDAR. The XBRL Filing section of the CSA website provides information about the voluntary XBRL program.

XBRL requires financial data to be created only once. This allows for an easy exchange of information between applications and over the Internet and customized analysis for analysts and investors.

Using XBRL, an information preparer assigns tags to individual financial statement items, such as "revenue", allowing the information to be processed automatically in various ways for different users.

XBRL compatible software is needed to create XBRL documents and to read and analyze data.

CSA XBRL Voluntary Filing Program

The CSA's XBRL voluntary filing program was launched in May 2007. This was an important first step to begin educating investors, reporting issuers and decision-makers about the advantages of a technology that is being adopted around the world. The voluntary program will help the CSA test and assess the usefulness of XBRL as it considers whether to make filing in the XBRL format mandatory.

Currently, voluntary XBRL filings are considered supplementary filings because issuers must continue to file their financial statements in PDF format as required by securities legislation.

XBRL financial statements are available on SEDAR. For a list of XBRL financial statements, search SEDAR under the "Financial Statements - XBRL" document type.

You can email questions about participating in the CSA's voluntary program to xbrl.info@csa-acvm.ca. Feedback on how to improve the voluntary program should be emailed to xbrl.feedback@csa-acvm.ca.

SEC Issuers

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) issued final rules that require companies filing with the SEC, including Canadian inter-listed companies, to provide periodic financial statement information in XBRL format. This filing requirement begins for fiscal periods ending on or after June 15, 2009 for larger companies and will be phased in during 2010 and 2011 for all other SEC reporting companies. Under the new rules, tagging will be required for financial statements, notes and financial schedules. Each company will also be required to provide the same information on its corporate website that it files with the SEC. The new requirements do not eliminate or alter existing requirements for filing financial information with the SEC.

The SEC will also require mutual fund companies to provide information using the XBRL filing format about a fund's investment objectives and strategies, costs, risks and past performance. Compliance by mutual funds will be required commencing on January 1, 2011.

For more information:

Le langage XBRL (eXtensible Business Reporting Language) est la nouvelle norme internationale régissant le dépôt et l'analyse de l'information financière. Cette technologie est conçue pour permettre aux investisseurs, aux analystes et à d'autres personnes d'accéder aux données financières relatives aux valeurs mobilières et de les analyser plus facilement.

Les compagnies ouvertes peuvent se servir de XBRL pour déposer leurs données financières trimestrielles. Son utilisation peut augmenter la vitesse de traitement des données financières, diminuer le nombre d'erreurs et simplifier l'analyse des données. De leur côté, les investisseurs pourraient bénéficier d'une information financière plus transparente et d'un meilleur accès à des données plus faciles à gérer, plutôt que de devoir parcourir une foule de données et de documents.

Les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières (ACVM) ont mis en place un programme permettant aux émetteurs de déposer, s'ils le veulent, leurs états financiers en format XBRL dans SEDAR. La section sur le dépôt de documents en format XBRL du site Web des ACVM offre des renseignements sur le programme facultatif de dépôt dans ce format.

Grâce au langage XBRL, les données financières sont créées une seule fois. Cela facilite l'échange d'information entre applications et par Internet ainsi que l'analyse personnalisée pour les analystes et les investisseurs.

À l'aide du langage XBRL, la personne qui prépare les données attribue une balise à chaque élément de l'état financier, tel que les « produits », ce qui permet de traiter automatiquement l'information de diverses façons pour différents utilisateurs.

Un logiciel compatible avec le langage XBRL est nécessaire pour créer des documents dans ce format de même que pour lire et analyser les données.

Programme de dépôt facultatif en format XBRL des ACVM

Le programme de dépôt facultatif en format XBRL des ACVM a été lancé en mai 2007. Ce lancement a été une première étape importante sur le plan de la sensibilisation des investisseurs, des émetteurs assujettis et des décideurs aux avantages d'une technologie que l'on adopte de plus en plus à travers le monde. Le programme facultatif aidera les ACVM à examiner et à évaluer l'utilité du langage XBRL et à déterminer s’il convient de rendre obligatoire le dépôt en format XBRL.

Actuellement, les dépôts facultatifs en format XBRL sont considérés comme des dépôts supplémentaires, car les émetteurs doivent continuer de déposer leurs états financiers en format PDF comme l'exigent les lois sur les valeurs mobilières.

Les états financiers en format XBRL sont accessibles sur le site Web de SEDAR. Pour obtenir une liste des états financiers en format XBRL, sélectionnez « États financiers – XBRL » sous la rubrique Type de document de SEDAR.

Vous pouvez envoyer vos questions concernant la participation au programme facultatif des ACVM à l'adresse xbrl.info@csa-acvm.ca. Les commentaires visant l'amélioration du programme facultatif doivent être envoyés à l'adresse xbrl.feedback@csa-acvm.ca.

Émetteurs relevant de la compétence de la SEC

La Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) des États-Unis a publié ses règles définitives exigeant que les compagnies qui déposent leurs documents auprès de la SEC, y compris les compagnies transfrontalières, fournissent leurs états financiers périodiques en format XBRL. Les grandes compagnies dont l'exercice se termine le 15 juin 2009 ou ultérieurement sont soumises à cette exigence, qui sera mise en vigueur graduellement en 2010 et en 2011 pour toutes les autres compagnies relevant de la compétence de la SEC. En vertu des nouvelles règles, le balisage sera obligatoire pour les états financiers, les notes et les plans financiers. Chaque compagnie devra également fournir sur son site Web la même information que celle qu'elle dépose auprès de la SEC. Les nouvelles exigences n'annulent pas ou ne modifient pas les exigences existantes de dépôt de l'information financière auprès de la SEC.

La SEC obligera en outre les sociétés de fonds mutuels à fournir, en format XBRL, l'information relative aux objectifs et aux stratégies de placement, aux coûts, aux risques et au rendement antérieur d'un fonds. Les fonds mutuels devront se plier à ces exigences à compter du 1er janvier 2011.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :
  • Avis 52-314 des ACVM Lancement d'un sondage sur XBRL
  • Avis 51-323 des ACVM Programme de dépôt de documents en XBRL et recherche de volontaires
  • Site Web des ACVM : Dépôt des documents en XBRL