OSC LaunchPad Rocket
OSC LaunchPad Rocket

Our team engages with fintechs, provides them with guidance and flexibility in navigating the requirements and works to keep securities regulation in step with digital innovation. We also work to ensure that investor protections are addressed in a way that makes sense for this evolving landscape.

"The OSC is committed to providing a tech- and innovation-friendly environment where we work with entrepreneurs to give them the opportunity to flourish in a regulated industry."
Maureen Jensen
OSC Chair & CEO

Meet the Team

OSC LaunchPad is a small, dedicated team that works with experts in other branches to modernize regulation in support of fintech innovation.

Pat Chaukos, Deputy Director

Pat Chaukos

Pat is committed to aligning regulation with innovation and modernizing our regulatory framework for novel fintech businesses. She has worked with several digital ventures to help them meet their regulatory requirements, including online trading platforms, lending platforms, crowdfunding portals and businesses utilizing emerging technologies such as artificial intelligence and blockchain.

LinkedIn LinkedIn Profile

Jonathan Yeung, Senior Business Adviser

Amanda Barone

Jonathan joined the OSC in 2011 and has been involved with reviews of many businesses seeking registration in Ontario, both traditional and novel. Jonathan has participated in various OSC projects and has streamlined several registration-related processes. As part of the Compliance and Registrant Regulation branch, Jonathan has assisted firms with integrating their innovative business models to meet regulatory requirements, including online lending platforms, crowdfunding platforms and Ontario’s first regulated initial token offering and private cryptoasset investment fund.

LinkedIn LinkedIn Profile

Asad Akhtar, Legal Counsel

Asad Akhtar

Asad initially joined the OSC in 2015 as a member of the Derivatives branch and has also been a member of the Compliance and Registrant Regulation Branch. During his time at the Commission, Asad has been involved with policy and research initiatives relating to distributed ledger technologies in the capital markets. Asad has prior experiences with cryptocurrencies, information technology, telecommunication and supply chain management.

LinkedIn LinkedIn Profile

Amanda Barone, Fintech Coordinator

Amanda Barone

Amanda joined the OSC in 2017 as a member of the core team for OSC LaunchPad. As a certified internal systems auditor, Amanda has a great deal of experience related to compliance and regulatory coordination. As Fintech Coordinator, Amanda assists the OSC LaunchPad team with managing Requests for Support, responding to inquiries from fintech businesses and organizing meetings and public engagements.

LinkedIn LinkedIn Profile



FINTECH ADVISORY COMMITTEE

This group of experts advises OSC staff on developments in the fintech space as well as the unique challenges faced by fintech businesses in the securities industry.

Members (February 2018 - February 2019)

Pat Chaukos (Chair) Ontario Securities Commission
Alan Lysne Ryerson Futures Inc.
Asif Qayyum PwC Canada
Barrie Laver Royal Bank of Canada
Carol Derk Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Christine Day Questrade Financial Group
Christian Lassonde Impression Ventures
Dan Rosen d1g1t Inc. University of Toronto
George Bordianu Paradiso Ventures
Gillian Stacey Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Hitesh Rathod NexusCrowd Inc.
John Lee TMX Group
Paritosh Gambhir KPMG LLP
Raymond Luk Hockeystick Co.
Robert Kirwin VigilantCS
Roy Kao MaRS Discovery District
Silvio Stroescu BMO InvestorLine
Stephanie Choo Portag3 Ventures

OSC contact

Amanda Barone, Fintech Coordinator
Tel: 416-597-7238
E-mail: abarone@osc.gov.on.ca

Contact

In order for us to best address your questions, complete and submit the OSC LaunchPad Request for Support form.

Our team is also available by:

Email - osclaunchpad@osc.gov.on.ca
Phone - (416) 596-4266 (Local) or 1-844-405-1339 (Canada toll-free)

For all media inquiries, visit our media room.

La fusée de la Rampe de lancement de la CVMO)
La fusée de la Rampe de lancement de la CVMO)

Notre équipe s'engage auprès des entreprises de technologie financière, leur fournit des conseils et la souplesse nécessaire pour s'y retrouver sur le plan des exigences et s'emploie à faire en sorte que la réglementation des valeurs mobilières soit en phase avec l'innovation numérique. Nous prenons également des mesures afin de garantir que les protections pour les investisseurs sont prises en compte de manière sensée au sein de ce contexte en pleine évolution.

« La CVMO s'est engagée à fournir un environnement favorisant la technologie et l'innovation, où nous collaborons avec les entrepreneurs pour leur donner la possibilité de prospérer au sein d'une industrie réglementée. »
Maureen Jensen
Présidente et chef de la direction de la CVMO

VOICI L'ÉQUIPE

La Rampe de lancement de la CVMO est une petite équipe dévouée qui travaille avec des spécialistes de domaines divers afin d'offrir une modernisation de la réglementation visant à soutenir l'innovation dans le secteur des technologies financières.

Pat Chaukos, Directrice Adjointe

Pat Chaukos

Pat Chaukos s'est engagée à harmoniser la réglementation avec l'innovation et à moderniser notre cadre réglementaire pour les entreprises de technologie financière innovantes. Elle a collaboré avec plusieurs entreprises numériques afin de les aider à se conformer aux exigences réglementaires, y compris les plateformes de négociation en ligne, les plateformes de prêts, les portails de financement collectif et les entreprises qui utilisent des technologies émergentes telles que l'intelligence artificielle et la chaîne de blocs.

LinkedIn Profil LinkedIn

Jonathan Yeung, conseiller principal, Affaires

Amy Tsai

M. Yeung s’est joint à la CVMO en 2011 et a participé aux examens de nombreuses entreprises souhaitant s’inscrire en Ontario, tant traditionnelles que novatrices. Il a pris part à divers projets de la CVMO et a simplifié plusieurs processus liés à l’inscription. Alors qu’il faisait partie de la direction de la réglementation des personnes et compagnies inscrites et de la conformité, M. Yeung a aidé des sociétés à intégrer leurs nouveaux modèles d’affaires pour répondre aux exigences réglementaires, y compris des plateformes de prêt en ligne, des plateformes de financement participatif et la première émission d’un jeton ainsi qu’un fonds privé de placement de cryptomonnaie en l’Ontario.

LinkedIn Profil LinkedIn

Asad Akhtar, Conseiller Juridique

Asad Akhtar

Asad Akhtar s'est joint à la CVMO en 2015 à titre de membre de la Direction des produits dérivés et a également été membre de la Direction de la réglementation des personnes et compagnies inscrites et de la conformité. Au cours de ses fonctions au sein de la Commission, il a participé aux initiatives de politiques et de recherche concernant les technologies de registre distribué dans les marchés financiers. Il possède une expérience en cryptomonnaies, en technologie de l'information, en télécommunications et en gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement.

LinkedIn Profil LinkedIn

Amanda Barone, Coordonnatrice De La Technologie Financière

Amanda Barone

Amanda Barone s'est jointe à la CVMO en 2017 à titre de membre de l'équipe de base de la Rampe de lancement de la CVMO. En tant qu'auditrice interne des systèmes certifiée, Mme Barone possède une expérience considérable en coordination de la réglementation et de la conformité. En tant que coordonnatrice de la technologie financière, elle aide l'équipe de la Rampe de lancement de la CVMO à gérer les demandes de soutien, à répondre aux demandes de renseignements des entreprises de technologie financière et à organiser les réunions et les engagements publics.

LinkedIn Profil LinkedIn

Jakob Pizzera, Senior Business Adviser

Jakob Pizzera

Drawing upon his business experience working in capital markets, management consulting and tech startups, Jakob is focused on helping fintech companies navigate the Canadian regulatory landscape. Jakob aims to assist companies seeking to operate in Canadian financial markets, as well as works to keep securities regulation in step with digital innovation.

LinkedIn Profil LinkedIn



COMITÉ CONSULTATIF EN MATIÈRE DE TECHNOLOGIE FINANCIÈRE

Ce comité conseille le personnel de la CVMO sur l'évolution de l'univers de la technologie financière et les défis particuliers que doivent relever les entreprises de technologie financière dans le secteur des valeurs mobilières.

Membres (de février 2018 à février 2019)

Pat Chaukos (Chair) Ontario Securities Commission
Alan Lysne Ryerson Futures Inc.
Asif Qayyum PwC Canada
Barrie Laver Royal Bank of Canada
Carol Derk Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Christine Day Questrade Financial Group
Christian Lassonde Impression Ventures
Dan Rosen d1g1t Inc. University of Toronto
George Bordianu Paradiso Ventures
Gillian Stacey Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Hitesh Rathod NexusCrowd Inc.
John Lee TMX Group
Paritosh Gambhir KPMG LLP
Raymond Luk Hockeystick Co.
Robert Kirwin VigilantCS
Roy Kao MaRS Discovery District
Silvio Stroescu BMO InvestorLine
Stephanie Choo Portag3 Ventures

Personnes-ressources de la CVMO:

Amanda Barone, Coordonnatrice De La Technologie Financière
Tél.: 416-597-7238
Courriel: abarone@osc.gov.on.ca

Pour Nous Joindre

Afin que nous puissions répondre au mieux à vos questions, remplissez et soumettez le formulaire « Demande de soutien – Rampe de lancement de la CVMO ».

Vous pouvez aussi joindre notre équipe par :

Courriel - osclaunchpad@osc.gov.on.ca
Téléphone - (416) 596-4266 (Local) or 1-844-405-1339 (numéro sans frais au Canada)

Pour toute demande de renseignements pour les médias, consultez notre salle de presse.