Proceedings

PDF Version

PDF Version



Practice Guideline – December 4, 2012

Commission’s Book of Authorities



(Cross-reference: Ontario Securities Commission Rules of Procedure (2012), 35 O.S.C.B. 10071)

Preamble

The Ontario Securities Commission (the “Commission” or the “OSC”) is issuing the following practice guideline in respect of the use of a Commission’s Book of Authorities in adjudicative proceedings before the Commission (the “Practice Guideline”).

The Practice Guideline varies the requirement established in Rule 10.9(4) of the Ontario Securities Commission Rules of Procedure (2012), 35 O.S.C.B. 10071) (the “OSC Rules”) that parties must provide the Commission with copies of all legal authorities referred to in their submissions. Parties will not be required to provide the Commission copies of legal authorities contained in the Commission’s Book of Authorities.

The Practice Guideline applies to all proceedings before the Commission where the Commission is required under the Securities Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5, as amended and the Commodity Futures Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.20, or otherwise by law, to hold a hearing or to afford to the parties to the proceeding an opportunity for a hearing before making a decision. The Practice Guideline is issued pursuant to Rule 1.3 of the OSC Rules.

The Commission therefore issues the following Practice Guideline which, effective January 1, 2013, will apply to all proceedings before the Commission, including proceedings commenced by a Notice of Hearing issued prior to the issuance of the Practice Guideline:

1. The Commission’s Book of Authorities

1.1. A Commission’s Book of Authorities containing cases frequently relied on by parties appearing before the Commission (the “Book of Authorities”), has been developed by the Office of the Secretary to the Commission and approved for use in proceedings before the Commission. A copy of the Book of Authorities has been provided to all Commissioners, and additional copies will be maintained in each hearing room used by the Commission.

1.2. An Index to the Book of Authorities, with links to copies of the authorities contained therein, is available on the Commission’s website (www.osc.gov.on.ca). An up-to-date copy of the Index is also available from the Office of the Secretary to the Commission. The authorities are listed in the Index under headings which are not in any way intended to provide legal advice.

1.3. There will be additions to, and deletions from, the Book of Authorities from time to time. Any questions or comments concerning the Book of Authorities, including any recommendations for additions to or deletions from the list of cases, should be directed to the Office of the Secretary to the Commission.

2. Relief from the requirement to provide copies of legal authorities to the Panel

2.1. Rule 10.9(4) of the OSC Rules states that “A party referring to any court decision, legal article or authority shall provide a copy for each member of the Panel and each party.”

2.2. Notwithstanding Rule 10.9(4) or any other requirement in the OSC Rules to the contrary, a party relying on an authority that is contained in the Book of Authorities need not reproduce the authority as part of the materials filed for matters before the adjudicative panels of the Commission.

2.3. A party relying on an authority from the Book of Authorities in written submissions should identity the case by name and citation, with reference to the Tab Number of the authority as it appears in the Index to the Book of Authorities.

3. Relief from the requirement to provide copies of legal authorities to each party

3.1. Notwithstanding Rule 10.9(4) of the OSC Rules or any other requirement in the OSC Rules to the contrary, where a party is relying on an authority from the Book of Authorities, the party is not required to provide copies of the authority to each party to the proceeding if the authority has been identified in the party’s written submissions as an authority contained in the Book of Authorities and the written submissions have been served on each party to the proceeding not later than 10 days prior to the hearing.

Instances

PDF Version

PDF Version



Directive de pratique – Le 4 décembre 2012

Recueil de précédents de la commission



(Renvoi : Règles de procédure de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario [2012], 35 BCVMO 10071)

Préambule

La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la « Commission » ou la « CVMO ») publie la présente directive de pratique se rapportant à l'utilisation d'un recueil de précédents dans les instances d'arbitrage devant la Commission (la « directive de pratique »).

La directive de pratique modifie l'exigence établie par la règle 10.9 (4) des Règles de procédure de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (2012), 35 BCVMO 10071 (les « Règles de la CVMO ») stipulant que les parties doivent fournir à la Commission des copies de toutes les affaires mentionnées dans leurs arguments. Les parties ne seront plus tenues de fournir à la Commission des copies des affaires contenues dans le recueil de précédents de la commission.

La directive de pratique s'applique à toutes les instances tenues devant la Commission lorsque cette dernière est obligée, aux termes de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.5, modifiée, de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.20 ou de toute autre loi, de tenir une audience ou d'offrir aux parties en cause la possibilité d'être entendues avant de rendre une décision. La directive est publiée en vertu de la règle 1.3 des Règles de la CVMO.

Par conséquent, la Commission publie la directive de pratique suivante qui, à compter du 1er janvier 2013, s'appliquera à toutes les instances devant la Commission, notamment celles qui ont été introduites par un avis d'audience avant la publication de la directive de pratique.

1. Recueil de précédents de la commission

1.1. Le Bureau du secrétaire de la Commission a créé un recueil de précédents renfermant les affaires invoquées par les parties lorsqu'elles comparaissent devant la Commission (le « recueil de précédents »). Son utilisation a été approuvée pour les instances devant la Commission. Un exemplaire du recueil de précédents a été fourni à tous les commissaires et des exemplaires supplémentaires seront conservés dans chaque salle d'audience utilisée par la Commission.

1.2. Un index du recueil de précédents comprenant des liens vers les copies des décisions mentionnées aux présentes est accessible sur le site Web de la Commission (www.osc.gov.on.ca). Il est également possible d'obtenir une copie à jour de l'index en communiquant avec le Bureau du secrétaire de la Commission. Les décisions sont classées dans l'index sous des sujets qui ne doivent pas être considérés comme des avis juridiques.

1.3. De temps à autre, des décisions seront ajoutées et supprimées du recueil de précédents. Les questions ou commentaires à propos du recueil de précédents, y compris les recommandations relatives à l'ajout ou à la suppression d'affaires de la liste, doivent être adressés au Bureau du secrétaire de la Commission.

2. Dispense de l'obligation de fournir des copies des affaires au comité

2.1. La règle 10.9 (4) des Règles de la CVMO stipule que « toute partie qui fait référence à une décision judiciaire, à un article de doctrine ou à d’autres sources doit en fournir une copie à chaque membre du comité d’audience et à chaque partie ».

2.2. Nonobstant la règle 10.9 (4) ou toute autre exigence des Règles de la CVMO indiquant le contraire, une partie qui invoque une affaire contenue dans le recueil de précédents n'a pas à la reproduire pour la déposer avec les documents relatifs à l'affaire en cours devant les comités d'arbitrage de la Commission.

2.3. Une partie qui invoque une affaire contenue dans le recueil de précédents dans ses observations par écrit doit indiquer le nom et la référence de l'affaire, ainsi que le numéro de l'onglet comme il apparaît dans l'index du recueil de précédents.

3. Dispense de l'obligation de fournir des copies des affaires à chaque partie

3.1. Nonobstant la règle 10.9 (4) ou toute autre exigence des Règles de la CVMO indiquant le contraire, une partie qui invoque une affaire contenue dans le recueil de précédents n'est pas tenue de fournir des copies de l'affaire à chaque partie à l'instance si la partie a indiqué dans ses observations par écrit qu'il s'agissait d'une affaire contenue dans le recueil de précédents et que les observations par écrit ont été distribuées à chaque partie au moins 10 jours avant l'audience.