Proceedings

PDF Version

PDF Version



Practice Guideline – April 24, 2012

Use and Disclosure of Personal Information
in Ontario Securities Commission’s Adjudicative Proceedings


(Cross-references: Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31, Statutory
Powers Procedure Act
, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.22 and Ontario Securities Commission Rules of Procedure
(2010), 33 O.S.C.B. 8017)



Preamble

The Ontario Securities Commission (the “Commission” or the “OSC”) is issuing the following practice guideline on the use and disclosure of personal information in adjudicative proceedings (the “Practice Guideline”). The Practice Guideline sets out some limits on the use and disclosure of personal information of investors, witnesses and other third parties referred to in the course of hearings, or collected as part of the hearing record, in adjudicative matters before the Commission. This Practice Guideline does not apply to personal information about any respondent to an adjudicative matter.

The Practice Guideline was developed in accordance with the Ontario Securities Commission Rules of Procedure (2010), 33 O.S.C.B. 8017 (the “OSC Rules”), the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.22 (the “SPPA”) and the Ontario Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31 (the “FIPPA”).

In developing the Practice Guideline, the Commission considered the FIPPA’s purpose to “protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by institutions and to provide individuals with a right of access to that information”. Most Ontario administrative tribunals, including the Commission, which perform an adjudicative function, are institutions for the purpose of the FIPPA listed in the schedule in Regulation 460 to that statute.

The SPPA applies to a tribunal in the exercise of a statutory power of decision conferred by or under an Act of the Legislature, where the tribunal, including the Commission, is required by or under such Act or otherwise by law to hold or to afford to the parties to the proceeding an opportunity for a hearing before making a decision.

The Practice Guideline applies to all proceedings before the Commission where the Commission is required under the Securities Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5, as amended and the Commodity Futures Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.20, or otherwise by law, to hold a hearing or to afford to the parties to the proceeding an opportunity for a hearing before making a decision. The Practice Guideline is issued pursuant to Rule 1.3 of the OSC Rules.

For the purpose of the Practice Guideline, personal information includes recorded information about an “identifiable individual” pursuant to section 2 of the FIPPA. For the purpose of the Practice Guideline, the name, title and contact information that identifies the individual in a business, professional or official capacity does not constitute personal information pursuant to subsection 2(3) of the FIPPA.

The Commission therefore issues the following Practice Guideline which will apply immediately to all proceedings before the Commission, including proceedings commenced by a Notice of Hearing issued prior to the issuance of the Practice Guideline:

1. General Principles and Application

1.1. The purpose of the Practice Guideline is to provide, to the extent possible, an appropriate balance between the right of access by the public to information and the desirability to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves in the context of the OSC’s adjudicative process.

1.2. The Practice Guideline is consistent with the Commission’s current practice adopted to prevent the unnecessary dissemination of personal information and draws upon best practices and recommendations from other federal and provincial tribunals and agencies.

1.3. The Practice Guideline sets out the right of access by the public to personal information of investors, witnesses and other third parties contained in records and adjudicative decisions and governs the use and treatment of personal information by parties and intervenors to a proceeding before the Commission, Members and Adjudicative Personnel.

1.4. Any restrictions on access to records and decisions apply to the general public and not to parties and intervenors to the proceeding to which the record or decision relate, unless otherwise ordered by a Hearing Panel. The restrictions do not apply to Members and Adjudicative Personnel.

2. Personal Information Covered by this Practice Guideline

2.1 “Personal information” refers to information that, when combined together or with the name of an individual, enables the direct identification of this individual. In the OSC’s adjudicative context, this information includes, but is not limited to, the following:1

  • social insurance numbers, Driver's Licence numbers, Passport numbers, Licence Plate numbers, and OHIP number (or other similar health number) of investors, witnesses and/or third parties;
  • The date of birth of investors, witnesses and/or third parties;
  • The municipal addresses of investors, witnesses and/or third parties, including street name, number and postal code (not city or province);
  • All telephone numbers of investors, witnesses and/or third parties;
  • Bank account numbers and trading account numbers of investors, witnesses and/or third parties (including joint accounts); and
  • The names of spouses and children of investors, witnesses and/or third parties.

2.2 “Personal information” does not include a person’s name, title or contact information or the designation of an individual that identifies the individual in a business, professional or official capacity.2

3. The Hearing Record

3.1 The hearing record includes any information or document that is collected, received, stored, maintained or archived by the Commission in connection with its adjudicative proceedings. The SPPA provides that: “A tribunal shall compile a record of any proceeding in which a hearing has been held which shall include,

  1. any application, complaint, reference or other document, if any, by which the proceeding was commenced;
  2. the notice of any hearing;
  3. any interlocutory orders made by the tribunal;
  4. all documentary evidence filed with the tribunal, subject to any limitation expressly imposed by any other Act on the extent to or the purposes for which any such documents may be used in evidence in any proceeding;
  5. the transcript, if any, of the oral evidence given at the hearing; and
  6. the decision of the tribunal and the reasons therefore where reasons have been given.”3

3.2 The following are excluded from the definition of hearing record:

  1. hearing notes, personal notes, legal opinions, memoranda, drafts of reasons and similar documents of information prepared and used by Members of the Commission or OSC Adjudicative Personnel; and
  2. records maintained by the Commission that are not connected with adjudicative proceedings.

3.3 “Decision” refers to any decision rendered by the Commission, including orders, as well as any disposition or reasons given in connection with such a decision.

3.4 Rule 5.1 of the Commission’s Rules of Procedure (2010), 33 O.S.C.B. 8017 provides that documents required to be filed or received in evidence in proceedings shall be available to the public. However, rule 5.2 permits the Commission to order that any document or transcript of a proceeding be kept confidential pursuant to section 9 of the SPPA. Public access to documents relating to a Commission proceeding may also be limited to redacted copies of those documents which do not contain personal information, as prescribed by the Practice Guideline.

3.5 The hearing record of a proceeding before the Commission shall consist of an original version of each document in the hearing record and, where appropriate, a redacted version with all personal information expunged. The publicly accessible hearing record shall consist of the redacted version of the record, unless ordered otherwise by a Hearing Panel.

3.6 The publicly accessible hearing record in an enforcement hearing will only be made public at the close of the evidence in that hearing.

4. Limitation on the Disclosure of Personal Information

4.1 When any party or participant files a document intended to be part of the hearing record, that party or participant is expected to use all reasonable efforts to limit the disclosure of personal information of investors, witnesses and other third parties to what is necessary for the disposition of the matter in accordance with the Practice Guideline.

4.2 In addition to the five unredacted copies of documents to be filed in accordance with subrule 1.5.4(3) of the Commission’s Rules of Procedure (2010), 33 O.S.C.B. 8017, a sixth redacted version of all documents that form part of the hearing record should be filed with the Commission, where appropriate, with the personal information of investors, witnesses and other third parties redacted in accordance with the Practice Guideline. Parties and participants are expected to use all reasonable efforts to ensure that all personal information of investors, witnesses and other third parties has been removed from the redacted version of the documents that form part of the hearing record.

4.3 It is not expected that personal information of a respondent that is relevant to the disposition of the matter be redacted. It remains open to a party or participant to bring a motion before the Hearing Panel to request that any personal information about a respondent be redacted from any documents in the hearing record.

4.4 Ultimate discretion with respect to whether any document in the hearing record should be redacted remains with the Hearing Panel.

5. Public Access to Records

5.1 When a redacted version of a document or record is filed, the Hearing Panel may order that the public only have access to the redacted version of the document or record.

5.2 When such an order has been made, the Registrar shall provide a redacted copy of the record or document to the public.

6. Application of the Practice Guideline to Adjudicative Decisions

6.1 When making a decision, a Hearing Panel will, to the extent possible, not refer to any personal information of non-parties as set out in the Practice Guideline.

6.2 Where appropriate, and at the discretion of the Hearing Panel, initials or similar anonymous identifiers should be substituted for the names of non-parties referred to in the decision so as to keep their identities private.

7. Practice Guideline Dissemination

7.1 The Commission will continue to inform the public and participants involved in the adjudicative process of the extent to which information in the hearing record is made publicly available, and of the measures that are taken pursuant to the Practice Guideline to protect personal information.

8. Practice Guideline Review

8.1 The Commission will review the Practice Guideline as appropriate to ensure that its application is current and further developed as required.

9. Power of the Hearing Panel

9.1 The Practice Guideline does not impede in any way the power of the Hearing Panel to make rulings as it deems appropriate in the circumstances, and does not fetter the discretion of the Hearing Panel in making decisions regarding the use and disclosure of personal information of any party or participant in any adjudicative matter.




1. See the definition of “personal information” set out at section 2 of FIPPA.

2. See section 2(3) of the FIPPA.

3. SPPA, s, 20.

Instances

PDF Version

Version PDF



Directive de pratique – 24 avril 2012

Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements personnels
dans le cadre des instances d'arbitrage de la Commission des
valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario


(Renvois : Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, chap. F.31, Loi sur
l’exercice des compétences légales
, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.22 et Règles de procédure de la Commission des
valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
(2010), 33 BCVMO 8017)



Préambule

La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la « Commission » ou la « CVMO ») publie la présente directive de pratique sur l'utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels dans le cadre des instances (la « directive de pratique »). La directive de pratique énonce certaines restrictions à l'égard de l'utilisation et de la divulgation des renseignements personnels des investisseurs, des témoins et autres tierces parties auxquels il est fait allusion durant les audiences ou qui sont consignés dans les dossiers d'audience, dans le cadre des instances devant la Commission. La présente directive de pratique ne s'applique pas aux renseignements personnels des intimés mis en cause dans une instance.

La directive de pratique a été préparée conformément aux Règles de procédure de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (2010), 33 BCVMO 8017 (les « Règles de la CVMO »), la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.22 (la « LECL ») et la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, chap. F.31 (la « LAIPVP ») de l'Ontario.

Dans le cadre de la préparation de la directive de pratique, la Commission a tenu compte de l'objet de la LAIPVP qui consiste à « protéger la vie privée des particuliers que concernent les renseignements personnels détenus par une institution et accorder à ces particuliers un droit d’accès à ces renseignements ». La plupart des tribunaux administratifs de l'Ontario, y compris la Commission, qui exercent des fonctions d’adjudication, sont des institutions au sens de la LAIPVP dont le nom apparaît dans l'annexe du Règlement 460 pris en application de cette loi.

La LECL s’applique aux instances tenues par un tribunal, y compris la Commission, dans l’exercice de la compétence légale de décision qui lui est conférée par une loi de la Législature ou en vertu de celle-ci, s’il est tenu, par cette loi de la Législature ou en vertu de celle-ci ou autrement par la loi, d’entendre les parties ou de leur donner l’occasion d’être entendues avant de rendre une décision.

La directive de pratique s'applique à toutes les instances tenues devant la Commission au cours desquelles cette dernière est tenue, en vertu de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières, L.R.O. 1990, chap. S.5, dans sa version modifiée, et la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.20, ou autrement par la loi, d’entendre les parties ou de leur donner l’occasion d’être entendues avant de rendre une décision. La directive est publiée en vertu de la Règle 1.3 des Règles de la CVMO.

Pour les besoins de la directive de pratique, les renseignements personnels comprennent les renseignements consignés ayant trait à un « particulier qui peut être identifié » conformément à l'article 2 de la LAIPVP. Pour les besoins de la directive de pratique, les renseignements personnels excluent le nom, le titre, les coordonnées et la désignation d’un particulier qui servent à l’identifier par rapport à ses activités commerciales ou à ses attributions professionnelles ou officielles conformément au paragraphe 2 (3) de la LAIPVP.

Par conséquent, la Commission publie la directive de pratique suivante qui s'appliquera immédiatement à toutes les instances devant la Commission, notamment celles qui ont été introduites par un avis d'audience avant la publication de la directive de pratique.

1. Principes généraux et application

1.1 La directive de pratique a pour objet d'établir, dans la mesure du possible, un juste équilibre entre le droit d'accès du public à l'information et le bien-fondé de protéger la vie privée des particuliers relativement à leurs renseignements personnels dans le contexte des instances de la CVMO.

1.2 La directive de pratique est conforme à la pratique actuelle que la Commission a adoptée pour prévenir la diffusion inutile de renseignements personnels et s'inspire des pratiques exemplaires et des recommandations d'autres tribunaux et organismes fédéraux et provinciaux.

1.3 La directive de pratique énonce le droit d'accès du public aux renseignements personnels des investisseurs, des témoins et autres tierces parties que contiennent les dossiers et les décisions et régit l'utilisation et le traitement des renseignements personnels par les parties et les intervenants en cause dans les instances devant la Commission, les membres et le personnel d'arbitrage.

1.4 Les restrictions relatives à l'accès aux dossiers et aux décisions s'appliquent au grand public et non aux parties et aux intervenants en cause dans l'instance à laquelle se rapporte le dossier ou la décision, à moins d'ordonnance contraire d'un comité d'audience. Les restrictions ne s'appliquent pas aux membres et au personnel d'adjudication.

2. Renseignements personnels visés par la présente directive de pratique

2.1 Les « renseignements personnels » désignent les renseignements qui, combinés entre eux ou au nom d'un particulier, permettent l'identification directe de ce particulier. Dans le contexte d'adjudication de la CVMO, ces renseignements comprennent, sans toutefois s'y limiter, ce qui suit :1

  • le numéro d'assurance sociale, le numéro de permis de conduire, le numéro de passeport, le numéro de plaque d'immatriculation et le numéro d'assurance-santé (ou autre numéro de régime de santé semblable) des investisseurs, des témoins et (ou) des tiers;
  • la date de naissance des investisseurs, des témoins et (ou) des tiers;
  • l'adresse municipale des investisseurs, des témoins et (ou) des tiers, dont le nom de rue, le numéro et le code postal (pas la ville ou la province);
  • tous les numéros de téléphone des investisseurs, des témoins et (ou) des tiers;
  • les numéros de comptes bancaires et de comptes de négociation des investisseurs, des témoins et (ou) des tiers (y compris les comptes conjoints);
  • les noms des conjoints et des enfants des investisseurs, des témoins et (ou) des tiers.

2.2 Les « renseignements personnels » excluent le nom, le titre, les coordonnées ou la désignation d’un particulier qui servent à l’identifier par rapport à ses activités commerciales ou à ses attributions professionnelles ou officielles2

3. Dossier d'audience

3.1 Le dossier d'audience comprend tout renseignement ou document recueilli, reçu, conservé, tenu à jour ou archivé par la Commission relativement à ses instances. La LECL prévoit ce qui suit : « Le tribunal établit un dossier de toute instance dans le cadre de laquelle une audience a été tenue. Ce dossier comprend :

  1. la demande, la plainte, le renvoi ou l’autre écrit, le cas échéant, qui a introduit l’instance;
  2. l'avis d'audience, le cas échéant;
  3. les ordonnances interlocutoires du tribunal, le cas échéant;
  4. la preuve écrite déposée auprès du tribunal, sous réserve des restrictions expressément imposées par d’autres lois quant à la mesure dans laquelle ces écrits peuvent servir de preuve ou quant aux fins auxquelles ils peuvent servir dans une instance;
  5. la transcription, s’il en est, de la preuve testimoniale;
  6. la décision, ainsi que les motifs exprimés, le cas échéant . »

3.2 Les documents suivants sont exclus de la définition du dossier d'audience :

  1. les notes relatives à l'audience, les notes personnelles, les avis juridiques, les mémoires, les versions provisoires des motifs et les documents d'information semblables préparés et utilisés par les membres de la Commission ou le personnel d'arbitrage de la CVMO;
  2. les dossiers conservés par la Commission qui ne se rapportent pas aux instances d'adjudication.

3.3 Le terme « décision » désigne toute décision rendue par la Commission, y compris les ordonnances, ainsi que les motifs donnés relativement à cette décision.

3.4 La règle 5.1 des Règles de procédures (2010), 33 BCVMO 8017 de la Commission prévoit que les documents devant être déposés ou reçus en preuve dans le cadre d’une instance doivent être mis à la disposition du public. Toutefois, la règle 5.2 permet à la Commission d'ordonner que tout document ou toute transcription d'une instance demeure confidentiel en vertu de l'article 9 de la LECL. L'accès du public aux documents se rapportant à une instance de la Commission peut également être limité aux versions expurgées de ces documents qui ne contiennent aucun renseignement personnel, comme le prévoit la directive de pratique.

3.5 Le dossier d'audience d'une instance devant la Commission se compose de la version originale de chaque document versé au dossier et, s'il y a lieu, d'une version expurgée qui ne contient aucun renseignement personnel. Le dossier d'audience auquel a accès le public se compose de la version expurgée du dossier, à moins d'une ordonnance contraire du comité d'audience.

3.6 Le public n'aura accès au dossier d'une audience d'application de la loi qu'à la fin de la présentation de la preuve durant cette audience.

4. Restriction de la divulgation des renseignements personnels

4.1 Lorsqu'une partie ou un participant dépose un document qui doit faire partie du dossier d'audience, la partie ou le participant en question doit prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour limiter la divulgation de renseignements personnels des investisseurs, des témoins et autres tierces parties à ce qui est nécessaire pour rendre une décision dans l'affaire conformément à la directive de pratique.

4.2 En plus des cinq copies des documents originaux qui doivent être déposées conformément au paragraphe 1.5.4 (3) des Règles de procédure (2010), 33 BCVMO 8017 de la Commission, une sixième version expurgée de tous les documents qui composent le dossier d'audience doit être déposée auprès de la Commission, le cas échéant. Cette version ne doit pas contenir de renseignements personnels des investisseurs, des témoins et autres tierces parties conformément à la directive de pratique. Les parties et les participants doivent prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour s'assurer que tous les renseignements personnels des investisseurs, des témoins et autres tierces parties sont supprimés de la version expurgée des documents qui composent le dossier d'audience.

4.3 Les renseignements personnels d'un intimé qui s'avèrent nécessaires pour rendre une décision dans l'affaire ne doivent pas être expurgés. Une partie ou un participant a la possibilité de présenter une motion devant le comité d'audience pour demander que tout renseignement personnel d'un intimé soit expurgé des documents versés au dossier d'audience.

4.4 Il revient en définitive au comité d'audience de décider s'il faut expurger les renseignements personnels de tout document versé au dossier d'audience.

5. Accès du public aux documents

5.1 Lorsqu'une version expurgée d'un document ou d'un dossier est déposée, le comité d'audience peut ordonner que le public n'ait accès qu'à la version expurgée du document ou du dossier.

5.2 Dans ce cas, le registraire fournira une version expurgée du dossier ou du document au public.

6. Application de la directive de pratique aux décisions d'arbitrage

6.1 Dans la mesure du possible, le comité d'audience fera en sorte de ne mentionner dans sa décision aucun renseignement personnel de tiers, comme il est énoncé dans la directive de pratique.

6.2 Le cas échéant et à la discrétion du comité d'audience, les initiales ou des identificateurs anonymes semblables doivent être utilisés pour remplacer les noms des tiers mentionnés dans la décision afin de garder leur identité confidentielle.

7. Diffusion de la directive de pratique

7.1 La Commission continuera d'informer le public et les participants au processus d'adjudication de la mesure dans laquelle les renseignements versés au dossier d'audience sont rendus publics et des mesures prises en vertu de la directive de pratique pour protéger les renseignements personnels.

8. Examen de la directive de pratique

8.1 La Commission examinera la directive de pratique au besoin pour s'assurer que son application est toujours pertinente et l'élaborer davantage.

9. Pouvoirs du comité d'audience

9.1 La directive de pratique ne limite d'aucune façon le pouvoir du comité d'audience de rendre les décisions qu'il juge appropriées dans les circonstances et n'entrave en rien le pouvoir discrétionnaire du comité d'audience de rendre des décisions relatives à l'utilisation et à la divulgation des renseignements personnels de toute partie ou tout participant à une instance d'adjudication.




1. Se reporter à la définition de « renseignements personnels » énoncée à l'article 2 de la LAIPVP.

2. Se reporter au paragraphe 2 (3) de la LAIPVP.

3. Article 20 de la LECL