Proceedings

News Release

Ontario Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
Box 55, Suite 1900
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 30, 2012


Ontario Court of Appeal upholds OSC decisions and sanctions
in the matter of Watt Carmichael Inc. et al


TORONTO – In a unanimous decision issued yesterday, the Ontario Court of Appeal upheld the Commission’s decisions relating to Watt Carmichael Inc., Roger Rowan, Harry Carmichael and Michael McKenney. The Court of Appeal dismissed all of the grounds of appeal, including a constitutional challenge to the Commission’s ability to order administrative monetary penalties.

The appellants appealed from the merits and sanctions decisions of the Commission in this matter dated June 20, 2008 and December 21, 2009. These decisions found each of the appellants to have committed serious violations of Ontario securities law and to have engaged in conduct contrary to the public interest. As summarized by the Court of Appeal:

  • [t]he proceedings arose from allegations that Roger Rowan, President and Chief Operating Officer of Watt Carmichael Inc. (WCI), breached Ontario securities law by trading in, and failing to report his trades in, a large volume of shares of Biovail Corporation. WCI is a broker and registered investment dealer.
  • Rowan was also a director of Biovail. Eugene Melnyk, Biovail’s Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, set up various offshore trusts which held Biovail securities and maintained discretionary trading accounts at WCI. Rowan, as registered representative on the trust accounts, was permitted to trade in securities without client authorization. Before the Commission, the parties agreed that Rowan traded millions of Biovail shares, generating approximately $2,350,000 in commissions for WCI between 2002 and 2004. The Commission dismissed allegations of insider trading but found that Rowan breached Ontario securities law by failing to file insider reports.
  • Harry Carmichael was the Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and Ultimate Designated Person of WCI and Michael McKenney was the Chief Financial Officer and Chief Compliance Officer. The Commission found that WCI, Carmichael and McKenney failed adequately to supervise Rowan’s trading in Biovail shares.

The Commission ordered significant sanctions against each appellant, including administrative penalties of more than $1.2 million against Roger Rowan, Watt Carmichael Inc. and Harry Carmichael. The Commission’s decisions were upheld in their entirety by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Divisional Court) in a decision rendered December 16, 2010.

Before the Ontario Court of Appeal, the appellants advanced a number of grounds of appeal, including a constitutional challenge to the administrative penalty provision set out in section 127(1)(9) of the Securities Act (Ontario). That provision allows the Commission to order payments of up to $1 million per breach of the Securities Act. The appellants argued that the magnitude of the potential penalties under this section would violate section 11 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms if awarded by the Commission.

Writing for the Court of Appeal, Justice Sharpe dismissed this argument and wrote: “[p]enalties of up to $1 million per infraction are, in my view, entirely in keeping with the Commission’s mandate to regulate the capital markets where enormous sums of money are involved and where substantial penalties are necessary to remove economic incentives for non-compliance with market rules.”

The Court of Appeal's decision is available at www.ontariocourts.ca.

 

 


-30-


For Media Inquiries: media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Manager, Public Affairs
416-593-2361

Dylan Rae
Media Relations Specialist
416-595-8934

For Investor Inquiries: OSC Contact Centre
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)

Instances

Communiqué

Ontario Securities
Commission


20, rue Queen Ouest
C.P. 55, bureau 1900
Toronto (Ontario)  M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Le 30 mars 2012


La Cour d'appel de l'Ontario maintient les décisions et les sanctions de la CVMO
dans l'affaire de Watt Carmichael Inc. et autres


TORONTO – Hier, dans une décision rendue à l'unanimité, la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario a maintenu les décisions de la Commission à l'égard de Watt Carmichael Inc., de Roger Rowan, de Harry Carmichael et de Michael McKenney. La Cour d'appel a rejeté tous les motifs d'appel, y compris une contestation constitutionnelle de la capacité de la Commission à ordonner des pénalités pécuniaires administratives.

Les appelants avaient interjeté appel des décisions que la CVMO avait rendues sur le fond et les sanctions dans cette affaire le 20 juin 2008 et le 21 décembre 2009. Selon ces décisions, chacun des appelants a été reconnu coupable d'avoir commis de graves infractions au droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières et de s'être conduit de façon contraire à l'intérêt public. Voici un résumé de la décision de la Cour d'appel.

  • [...] les instances découlent des allégations voulant que Roger Rowan, président et chef de l'exploitation de Watt Carmichael Inc. (WCI), ait enfreint le droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières pour avoir négocié un volume élevé d'actions de Biovail Corporation et avoir omis de le déclarer. WCI est un courtier en valeurs mobilières inscrit.
  • M. Rowan était également un directeur de Biovail. Eugene Melnyk, président du conseil d'administration et chef de la direction chez Biovail, a établi diverses fiducies à l'étranger qui détenaient des valeurs mobilières de Biovail et a maintenu des comptes de négociation carte blanche chez WCI. M. Rowan, en tant que représentant inscrit pour les comptes de fidéicommis, avait la permission d'effectuer des opérations sur valeurs mobilières sans l'autorisation du client. Devant la Commission, les parties ont reconnu que M. Rowan a négocié des millions d'actions de Biovail, ce qui a généré des commissions d'environ 2 350 000 $ pour WCI entre 2002 et 2004. La Commission a écarté les allégations d'opérations d'initiés, mais a reconnu M. Rowan coupable d'avoir enfreint le droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières en omettant de déposer des déclarations d'initié.
  • Harry Carmichael était le président et chef de la direction ainsi que personne désignée la plus haut placée de WCI et Michael McKenney était le directeur financier et l'agent de conformité principal de cette même société. La Commission a conclu que WCI, M. Carmichael et M. McKenney n'avaient pas surveillé adéquatement les opérations de M. Rowan sur les actions de Biovail.

La Commission a ordonné de sévères sanctions contre chaque appelant, notamment des pénalités administratives de plus de 1,2 million de dollars contre Roger Rowan, Watt Carmichael Inc. et Harry Carmichael. Les décisions de la Commission ont été confirmées dans leur intégralité par la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario (Cour divisionnaire) dans une décision rendue le 16 décembre 2010.

Devant la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, les appelants ont invoqué de nombreux motifs d'appel, y compris une contestation constitutionnelle à la disposition de pénalité administrative prévue à l'alinéa 127 (1) (9) de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario). Cette disposition permet à la Commission d'ordonner des paiements allant jusqu'à 1 million de dollars par infraction à la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières. Les appelants ont fait valoir que l'ampleur des pénalités potentielles en vertu de ce paragraphe contreviendrait à l'article 11 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés si elles étaient imposées par la Commission.

Le juge Sharpe, au nom de la Cour d'appel, a rejeté cet argument et a écrit ceci : « Des pénalités allant jusqu'à 1 million de dollars par infraction sont, à mon avis, tout à fait conformes au mandat de la Commission qui consiste à réglementer les marchés financiers où d'énormes sommes d'argent sont en jeu et où des pénalités substantielles sont nécessaires pour enrayer les incitations économiques au non-respect des règlements du marché. » [traduction]

La décision de la Cour d'appel est accessible à l'adresse www.ontariocourts.ca.

 

 


- 30 -


Renseignements, médias : media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca Alison Ford
Spécialiste des relations avec les médias
416 593-8307

Renseignements, investisseurs : InfoCentre de la CVMO
416 593-8314
1 877 785-1555 (sans frais)