Proceedings

Notice from the
Office of the Secretary
Ontario

Ontario Securities
Commission


20 Queen St. W.
Box 55, Suite 1900
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 24, 2012


Publication of the Ontario Securities Commission’s Adjudicative
Orders, Rulings and Decisions



TORONTO – The transparency of the Ontario Securities Commission (the “Commission”)’s adjudicative proceedings is advanced by making its adjudicative orders, rulings and decisions (collectively, “decisions”) fully accessible to the public.

The Commission’s practice, in keeping with the goals of openness and transparency, is to publish all decisions made with respect to matters before the adjudicative tribunal in the OSC Bulletin and on the Commission’s website at www.osc.gov.on.ca. The decisions may also be available on other public sites or by subscription.

Once the Commission’s decisions are published on the Commission’s website, they become a permanent public record.

In limited circumstances, the confidential nature of a hearing may require that the Commission issue a confidential decision that is released only to the parties to the matter before the Commission, and not to the public. Where practicable, and depending on the circumstances, decisions that are confidential in nature will be published publicly in an anonymized format that does not disclose the names of the parties, or other identifiers.

The Commission recognizes that there is a public interest in limiting the disclosure of personal information and names of investors and witnesses in adjudicative matters. Accordingly, the Commission will not include personal information, as defined in s. 2 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31, of investors and witnesses in an adjudicative decision unless that information is necessary to support the decision. However, some personal information about respondents in Commission proceedings that is viewed as relevant will be included in the Commission’s adjudicative decisions.

See also the Commission’s Practice Guideline dated April 24, 2012 for a more detailed description of the Commission’s practice with respect to the use and disclosure of personal information in adjudicative proceedings.

 

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
JOHN P. STEVENSON
SECRETARY

 

- 30 -

 

For media inquiries:
media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca
   
Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Manager, Public Affairs
416-593-2361

Dylan Rae
Media Relations Specialist
416-595-8934

For Investor Inquiries:     OSC Contact Centre
416-593-8314
1-877-785-1555 (Toll Free)

Instances

Avis du
Bureau du Secrétaire
Ontario

Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario


20, rue Queen Ouest
C.P. 55, bureau 1900
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3S8
Ontario Securities
Commission

POUR PUBLICATION IMMÉDIATE

24 avril 2012


Publication des ordonnances et des décisions de la
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario



TORONTO – La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la « Commission ») accroît la transparence de ses instances en publiant l'intégralité de ses ordonnances et décisions en la matière (conjointement les « décisions »).

Conformément à ses objectifs d'ouverture et de transparence, la Commission a pour pratique de publier toutes les décisions rendues dans le cadre des instances devant le tribunal dans le Bulletin de la CVMO et sur le site Web de la Commission à l'adresse www.osc.gov.on.ca. Les décisions peuvent également être accessibles sur d'autres sites publics ou par abonnement.

Dès que les décisions de la Commission sont publiées sur son site Web, elles deviennent un document public permanent.

En de rares circonstances, la nature d'une audience pourrait faire en sorte que la Commission rende une décision confidentielle qui est uniquement divulguée aux parties en cause et non au public. Dans la mesure du possible et selon les circonstances, les décisions de nature confidentielle seront publiées sous une forme anonyme qui ne contient pas les noms des parties ou autres identificateurs.

La Commission reconnaît qu'il est dans l'intérêt public de restreindre la divulgation de renseignements personnels ainsi que les noms des investisseurs et des témoins dans les instances. Par conséquent, la Commission n'inclura pas les renseignements personnels, au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, chap. F.31, des investisseurs et des témoins dans ses décisions à moins que cette information soit nécessaire pour venir appuyer la décision. Toutefois, certains renseignements personnels jugés pertinents sur les intimés mis en cause dans les instances de la Commission seront inclus dans les décisions de cette dernière.

Consultez également la Directive de pratique de la Commission datée du 24 avril 2012 pour obtenir une description plus détaillée de la pratique de la Commission relative à l'utilisation et à la divulgation de renseignements personnels dans le cadre des instances.

 

BUREAU DU SECRETAIRE
JOHN P. STEVENSON
SECRETAIRE

 

- 30 -

 

Renseignements, médias : media_inquiries@osc.gov.on.ca Alison Ford
Spécialiste des relations avec les médias
416 593-8307

Renseignements, investisseurs : InfoCentre de la CVMO
416 593-8314
1 877 785-1555 (sans frais)