Investors

PDF Version
PDF Version




Ontario Securities Commission
Responses to Enquiries on the OSC Investor Advisory Panel



On March 19, 2010, the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC or the Commission) published to its website OSC Notice – OSC Investor Advisory Panel Request for Applications (“Notice”). The Commission has received a number of enquiries from various individuals and organizations interested in the Panel. In the interests of transparency and fairness, the Commission is responding to the enquiries collectively and making this information available to all potential applicants through publication to the OSC website. More detailed information on the Panel’s mandate can be found in the Investor Advisory Panel Terms of Reference which are available on the OSC’s website.

The Commission will continue to accept questions from prospective applicants until April 23, 2010 and will continue to provide information through the OSC website. The deadline for applications for appointment to the Panel is April 30, 2010.

Q. What will the focus of the Panel’s work be?

The Panel will respond in writing to public requests for comments by the Commission on proposed rules, policies, concept papers and discussion drafts. The Panel will also have an opportunity to comment annually on the Commission’s proposed priorities and will consider specific issues at the request of the Commission. The Panel will develop an annual work plan and objectives at an early stage.

Q. Who should apply for Panel membership?

It is expected that the members of the Panel will represent a diverse range of experience and skills with respect to a wide spectrum of investor issues. Applicants are expected to have qualifications, skills or experience in one or more of the following areas:

  • Involvement in a community-based organization with a demonstrated commitment to advancing public policy, preferably relating to the financial well-being of Ontarians;
  • Involvement in an investor or consumer association with experience representing views of Ontarians;
  • Professionals with experience advising investors, such as lawyer or accountant;
  • Institutional investors from the pension sector or other buy side;
  • Household financial advisers; or
  • Market or academic researchers.

All applications will be considered by a Selection Committee of three Part-time Commissioners. The Committee will recommend the nominees for appointment by the Chair of the Commission.

Q. Is it a requirement that Panel members attend meetings in person?

Panel members will be expected to attend meetings in person and maintain a good attendance record. Arrangements will be made, however, to enable Panel members living outside the Toronto area to participate where appropriate by conference call. Panel members will be compensated for preparation for and attending at meetings of the Panel. In addition, travel expenses will be covered up to an estimated maximum of $30,000 for the Panel per year.

Q. How will the Panel represent the perspectives of Ontario investors?

Members of the Panel will not likely be expert in all issues considered by the Panel. In order to advance its work plan, the Panel will, therefore, be encouraged to draw on the expertise and experience of others through consulting with stakeholders to obtain appropriate input into its deliberations. The Panel may use a variety of methods including roundtables, focus groups or surveys. To that end, the Panel will be provided with a yearly budget of $50,000 to support its investor consultation efforts and to procure professional services to assist it in effectively fulfilling its mandate.

Q. How will the Panel communicate about its activities?

The Panel will communicate in writing through publishing its comments in response to requests for comment from the Commission and through the annual report of the Chair of the Panel to the Commission. The Panel’s communications will be published on the Commission’s website.

Q. Who has responsibility for the effective operation and governance of the Panel?

The Panel is intended to operate independently at arm’s-length from the Commission. The Panel will have its own chair who will have principal responsibility for the Panel’s deliberations to ensure that it can fulfill its mandate effectively. The Panel Chair will lead and manage its activities and will be responsible for ensuring that the Panel develops an annual work plan at an early stage. The Panel will be given administrative support through the Office of the Secretary to the Commission. The Commission has also requested Commissioner Condon to act as a “sponsor” for the Panel.

Q. Are there any confidentiality restrictions with respect to the Panel’s work?

Panel members will be expected not to disclose information that has been specifically identified by the Commission as confidential. Members will also be expected to respect the confidentiality of Panel deliberations and any personal information that might be provided to the Panel by investors or other participants in connection with the Panel’s consultations.

Q. Are there conflict of interest provisions with respect to the Panel’s work?

Panel members may be in a conflict of interest if any employment, business, financial or other personal considerations could interfere with their ability to express opinions on investor issues being considered by the Panel. Article 13 of the Terms of reference provides more information on identifying, reporting and resolving potential conflicts of interest. To avoid potential conflicts of interest, it is not expected that current employees of capital markets regulators would be appointed to the panel.

Questions on the Investor Advisory Panel should be addressed by e-mail to:

John P. Stevenson
Secretary to the Commission
jstevenson@osc.gov.on.ca

Version PDF
Version PDF




Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario
Réponses aux demandes de renseignements portant sur le Groupe consultatif des
investisseurs de la CVMO



Le 19 mars 2010, la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (la CVMO ou la Commission) a publié sur son site Web l'Avis de la CVMO – Appel de candidatures pour le Groupe consultatif des investisseurs de la CVMO (« l'avis »). La Commission a reçu un certain nombre de demandes de renseignements de la part de différents organismes et particuliers affichant un intérêt pour le Groupe. À des fins de transparence et d'équité, la Commission répond aux demandes collectivement et rend ces renseignements accessibles à tous les candidats potentiels en les affichant sur son site Web. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat du Groupe dans le document intitulé Attributions du Groupe consultatif des investisseurs accessible sur le site Web de la CVMO.

La Commission acceptera des questions de la part des candidats jusqu'au 23 avril 2010 et continuera de rendre des renseignements accessibles sur son site Web. La date limite pour l'envoi de candidatures est le 30 avril 2010.

Q. Quel sera le principal travail du Groupe?

Le Groupe répondra par écrit aux demandes de commentaires de la Commission concernant les projets de règles et de politiques, les documents conceptuels et les documents de discussion. Il formulera en outre annuellement des commentaires sur la proposition d'énoncé des priorités de la CVMO et se penchera sur des questions particulières à la demande de la Commission. De plus, il élaborera un plan de travail annuel et des objectifs dès le début de son mandat.

Q. Qui peut devenir membre du Groupe?

On s'attend à ce que les membres fassent état d'une expérience et de compétences diverses relativement à une vaste gamme d'enjeux touchant les investisseurs. Les candidats doivent avoir des compétences ou de l'expérience dans au moins un des domaines suivants :

  • membre d'un organisme communautaire ayant démontré son engagement à promouvoir l'intérêt public, préférablement en matière de bien-être financier des Ontariens;
  • membre d'une association de consommateurs ou d'investisseurs ayant de l'expérience en matière de présentation du point de vue des Ontariens;
  • professionnel ayant de l'expérience dans le secteur des conseils aux investisseurs, comme un avocat ou un comptable;
  • investisseur institutionnel du secteur des régimes de retraite ou d'un autre secteur client;
  • conseiller financier auprès des particuliers;
  • chercheur universitaire ou responsable d'études de marché.

Un comité de sélection composé de trois commissaires à temps partiel étudiera toutes les candidatures. Le Comité recommandera les candidats choisis aux fins de nomination par le président de la Commission.

Q. Les membres du Groupe doivent-ils assister aux réunions en personne?

Les membres doivent assister aux réunions en personne et avoir une bonne feuille de présence. Toutefois, des dispositions seront prises pour que les membres qui demeurent à l'extérieur de la région de Toronto puissent participer aux réunions par conférence téléphonique. Les membres seront rémunérés pour la préparation et la présence aux réunions du Groupe. De plus, les frais de déplacement seront couverts jusqu'à concurrence d'environ 30 000 $ par année pour tous les membres.

Q. De quelle façon le Groupe représentera-t-il les opinions des investisseurs de l'Ontario?

Les membres ne seront probablement pas des experts dans tous les sujets qui seront abordés. Par conséquent, afin de faire progresser son plan de travail, on encourage le Groupe à faire appel à l'expertise et à l'expérience d'autres parties au moyen de consultations avec des parties intéressées pour obtenir des commentaires pertinents aux fins de délibération. Le Groupe peut avoir recours à diverses méthodes, notamment des tables rondes, des groupes de discussion et des questionnaires. À cette fin, le Groupe bénéficiera d'un budget annuel de 50 000 $ pour appuyer ses efforts de consultation auprès des investisseurs et offrir des services professionnels en vue de remplir son mandat de façon efficace.

Q. Comment le Groupe communiquera-t-il les renseignements relatifs à ses activités?

Les communications du Groupe comprendront des réponses écrites aux demandes de commentaires de la Commission et le rapport annuel du président du Groupe présenté à la Commission. Elles seront publiées sur le site Web de la Commission.

Q. Qui est responsable du fonctionnement efficace du Groupe et de sa gouvernance?

Le Groupe est indépendant de la Commission. Il aura donc son propre président, dont la principale responsabilité sera d'assurer que le Groupe peut réaliser son mandat de façon efficace. Il sera chargé de diriger et de gérer les activités du Groupe en plus d'assurer que ce dernier élabore un plan de travail annuel dès le début de son mandat. Le Groupe bénéficiera du soutien administratif du Bureau du secrétaire de la Commission. La Commission a également demandé à ce que la commissaire Condon agisse à titre de « marraine » du Groupe.

Q. Le Groupe doit-il respecter des restrictions en matière de confidentialité dans le cadre de son travail?

Les membres du Groupe ne doivent pas divulguer de renseignements qui ont été déclarés confidentiels par la Commission. On s'attend également à ce qu'ils respectent la confidentialité relative aux délibérations du Groupe et aux renseignements personnels fournis par les investisseurs et les autres participants au cours des consultations.

Q. Existe-t-il des dispositions concernant les conflits d'intérêts dans le cadre du travail du Groupe?

Un conflit d'intérêts existe si l'emploi, les affaires et la situation financière ou personnelle d'un membre font obstacle à sa capacité d'exprimer son opinion sur les questions relatives aux investisseurs abordées par le Groupe. L'article 13 des attributions contient de plus amples renseignements sur la détermination, la divulgation et la résolution de conflits d'intérêts potentiels. Pour éviter tout conflit d'intérêts, les employés des organismes de réglementation des marchés financiers ne devraient pas être nommés au sein du Groupe.

 

 

Vous pouvez soumettre vos questions portant sur le Groupe consultatif des investisseurs à la personne suivante :

 

John P. Stevenson
Secrétaire de la Commission
jstevenson@osc.gov.on.ca