Industry


Specialized Funds


Other investment funds that are subject to the OSC’s regulatory requirements include:

  • Scholarship Plans
  • Labour Sponsored Investment Funds
  • Commodity Pools

Scholarship Plans

Scholarship Plans are investment funds designed to facilitate savings for future education. For more information, see National Policy Statement 15 Conditions Precedent to Acceptance of Scholarship or Educational Plan Prospectuses. These funds are also subject to:

NI 81-106 outlines requirements regarding the on-going calculation of a fund’s net asset value. NI 81-107 requires investment funds to appoint an independent review committee that is responsible for reviewing the fund manager’s conflicts of interest. NI 41-101 contains requirements regarding the custody of assets.

Labour Sponsored Investment Funds

Labour Sponsored Investment Funds are investment funds registered under the Community Small Business Investment Funds Act designed to promote investment in smaller companies. These funds are subject to unique provisions in Part XIV of Regulation 1015 made under the Securities Act (Ontario).

These funds are also subject to:

NI 81-102 details requirements regarding conflicts of interest, securityholder voting rights and meetings, custody of assets, and sales communications. NI 81-106 outlines requirements regarding the on-going calculation of a fund’s net asset value. NI 81-107 requires investment funds to appoint an independent review committee that is responsible for reviewing the fund manager’s conflicts of interest. NI 41-101 contains requirements regarding the custody of assets.

Commodity Pools

Commodity Pools are investment funds that are permitted to invest in specified derivatives or physical commodities in a manner not typically permitted under National Instrument 81-102 Mutual Funds. Commodity Pools are subject to National Instrument 81-104 Commodity Pools. They are also subject to:

NI 81-102 details important investment restrictions and other requirements regarding the creation of new funds, conflicts of interest, securityholder voting rights and meetings, custody of assets, incentive fees, subscriptions and redemptions, and sales communications. NI 81-106 outlines requirements regarding the on-going calculation of a fund’s net asset value. NI 81-107 requires investment funds to appoint an independent review committee that is responsible for reviewing the fund manager’s conflicts of interest. NI 41-101 contains requirements regarding the custody of assets.

Secteur


Fonds Spéciaux


Les autres fonds d'investissement qui sont assujettis aux exigences réglementaires de la CVMO comprennent :

  • les régimes de bourse d'études
  • les fonds d’investissement parrainés par les travailleurs
  • les fonds du marché à terme
Les régimes de bourse d'études sont des fonds d'investissement visant à aider les gens à économiser en vue des études futures. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter au Règlement C-15 sur les conditions préalables à l'acceptation du prospectus des fondations de bourses d'études. Ces fonds sont également assujettis aux règlements suivants :

Le Règlement 81-106 énonce les exigences relatives au calcul de la valeur liquidative d'un fonds. Le Règlement 81-107 exige que les fonds d'investissement nomment un comité d'examen indépendant chargé d'examiner les conflits d'intérêt du gestionnaire du fonds. Le Règlement 41-101 renferme les exigences relatives à la garde de biens.

Les fonds d’investissement parrainés par les travailleurs sont inscrits en vertu de la Loi sur les fonds communautaires de placement dans les petites entreprises (Disponible en anglais seulement) qui vise à promouvoir l'investissement dans les petites entreprises. Ces fonds sont assujettis aux dispositions particulières de la partie XIV du Règlement 1015 (Disponible en anglais seulement)pris en application de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario).

Ces fonds sont également assujettis aux règlements suivants :

Le Règlement 81-102 énonce en détail les exigences relatives aux conflits d'intérêts, aux droits de vote et aux réunions des détenteurs de valeurs mobilières, à la garde de biens et aux communications commerciales. Le Règlement 81-106 énonce les exigences relatives au calcul de la valeur liquidative d'un fonds. Le Règlement 81-107 exige que les fonds d'investissement nomment un comité d'examen indépendant chargé d'examiner les conflits d'intérêt du gestionnaire du fonds. Le Règlement 41-101 renferme les exigences relatives à la garde de biens.

Les fonds du marché à terme sont des fonds d'investissement qui sont autorisés à investir dans des produits dérivés ou des produits physiques précis d'une manière qui n'est généralement pas autorisée en vertu du Règlement 81-102 sur les organismes de placement collectif (Disponible en anglais seulement). Les fonds du marché à terme sont assujettis au Règlement 81-104 sur les fonds du marché à terme (Disponible en anglais seulement). Ils sont également assujettis aux règlements suivants :

Le Règlement 81-102 fournit des détails sur les restrictions importantes en matière de placement et les autres exigences relatives à la création de nouveaux fonds, aux conflits d'intérêt, aux droits de vote et aux réunions des détenteurs de valeurs mobilières, à la garde des biens, aux primes d'incitation, aux souscriptions et aux rachats ainsi qu'aux communications commerciales. Le Règlement 81-106 énonce les exigences relatives au calcul de la valeur liquidative d'un fonds. Le Règlement 81-107 exige que les fonds d'investissement nomment un comité d'examen indépendant chargé d'examiner les conflits d'intérêt du gestionnaire du fonds. Le Règlement 41-101 renferme les exigences relatives à la garde de biens.