Industry


Dealer Compensation


The sales practices and compensation arrangements between a mutual fund that offers securities by way of a prospectus and the dealers that sell those mutual fund securities are subject to certain regulations, outlined in National Instrument 81-105 Mutual Fund Sales Practices.

The regulations establish standards of conduct that aim to minimize the conflicts between the legitimate commercial goals of participants in the fund industry and the fundamental obligations they owe to investors.

Payments and other benefits that can be made by a mutual fund and a “member of the organization of the mutual fund” to a participating dealer and its sales representatives are restricted. For a mutual fund, a “member of the organization of the mutual fund” means the fund’s manager, its principal distributor, its portfolio adviser, any affiliate of the foregoing and a person or company that is organized by a member of the organization of the fund to fund payment of commissions to participating dealers and that has a right to arrange for the distribution of the securities of the fund.

Generally, a “member of the organization of the mutual fund” (and not the mutual fund) can pay participating dealers sales commissions and trailing commissions, as well as the costs of marketing and educational events within prescribed limits. A “member of the organization of the mutual fund” may also organize and present conferences or seminars for the sales representatives of participating dealers provided certain conditions are met. Certain types of sales commissions and trailing commission structures are prohibited.

The promotional items and business promotion activities that a “member of the organization of the mutual fund” can provide to sales representatives as well as other sales practices such as commission rebates and financial assistance, are subject to certain restrictions.

For more information:

Secteur


Rémunération des Courtiers


Les pratiques commerciales et les ententes de rémunération entre un fonds mutuel qui offre des valeurs mobilières au moyen d'un prospectus et les courtiers qui vendent ces valeurs sont assujetties à certains règlements énoncés dans le Règlement 81-105 sur les pratiques commerciales des organismes de placement collectif.

Les règlements établissent des normes de conduite qui visent à minimiser les conflits entre les objectifs commerciaux légitimes des participants au secteur des fonds et les obligations fondamentales qu'ils doivent respecter envers les investisseurs.

Les paiements et autres avantages qui peuvent être versés par un fonds mutuel et un « membre d’une compagnie de fonds mutuels » à un courtier participant et à ses représentants des ventes sont restreints. Pour un fonds mutuel, l'expression « membre d’une compagnie de fonds mutuels » désigne le gestionnaire du fonds, son distributeur principal, le conseiller de son portefeuille, toute société affiliée de ces entités et une personne ou une compagnie qui est créée par un membre de la compagnie du fonds pour financer le paiement des commissions aux courtiers participants et qui a le droit d'organiser la distribution des valeurs mobilières du fonds.

En règle générale, un « membre d’une compagnie de fonds mutuels » (et non le fonds mutuel) peut verser aux courtiers participants des commissions de vente et de service, ainsi que les coûts des événements de marketing et d'information dans les limites prescrites. Un « membre d’une compagnie de fonds mutuels » peut également organiser et présenter des conférences ou des séminaires à l'intention des représentants des ventes des courtiers participants, à certaines conditions. Certains types de structures de commissions de vente et de service sont interdits.

Les articles promotionnels et les activités de promotion des affaires qu'un « membre d’une compagnie de fonds mutuels » peut mettre à la disposition des représentants des ventes ainsi que d'autres pratiques commerciales comme les remboursements de commission et l'aide financière sont assujettis à certaines restrictions.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements