Industry


Conventional Mutual Funds


Investors can redeem conventional mutual funds at any time for their proportionate interest of the fund’s net assets. Because conventional mutual funds do not trade on an exchange, the only way an investor can get their money out of the conventional mutual fund is by redeeming their investment in the fund.

A conventional mutual fund’s operations are subject to:

  • National Instrument 81-102 Investment Funds: Details important investment restrictions and other requirements regarding the creation of new funds, conflicts of interest, securityholder voting rights and meetings, custody of assets, incentive fees, subscriptions and redemptions, and sales communications.
  • National Instrument 81-106 Investment Fund Continuous Disclosure: Outlines requirements regarding the on-going calculation of a fund’s net asset value.
  • National Instrument 81-107 Independent Review Committee for Investment Funds: Requires investment funds to appoint an independent review committee that is responsible for reviewing the fund manager’s conflicts of interest.
For more information:

Secteur


Fonds Mutuels Traditionnels


Les investisseurs peuvent racheter leurs parts d'un fonds mutuel traditionnel à tout moment contre leur intérêt proportionnel de l'actif net du fonds. Puisque les fonds mutuels traditionnels ne sont pas cotés en bourse, la seule façon pour un investisseur de retirer de l'argent de ces fonds est de racheter son placement dans le fonds.

Les activités d'un fonds mutuel traditionnel sont assujetties aux règlements suivants :

Règlement 81-102 sur les organismes de placement collectif (Règlement 81-102) : Fournit des détails sur les restrictions importantes en matière de placement et les autres exigences relatives à la création de nouveaux fonds, aux conflits d'intérêt, aux droits de vote et aux réunions des détenteurs de valeurs mobilières, à la garde des biens, aux primes d'incitation, aux souscriptions et aux rachats ainsi qu'aux communications commerciales.

Règlement 81-106 sur l'information continue des fonds d'investissement : Énonce les exigences relatives au calcul de la valeur liquidative d'un fonds.

Règlement 81-107 sur le comité d'examen indépendant des fonds d'investissement : Exige que les fonds d'investissement nomment un comité d'examen indépendant chargé d'examiner les conflits d'intérêt du gestionnaire du fonds.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :