Industry


Ongoing Requirements


On September 28, 2009, a new Canada-wide regime for registrants came into force. In Ontario, these reforms were introduced through a combination of amendments to the Securities Act (Ontario), National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements and Exemptions and amendments to related rules. On July 11, 2011, amendments to this regime for registrants came into force, including changing the name of National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements and Exemptions to National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations (NI 31-103). Transition periods apply to some of the requirements.

Registered firms are subject to many ongoing requirements under the new registration regime. For example, registered firms must:

The OSC conducts compliance reviews to monitor whether firms are complying with securities law. For more information, see OSC Compliance Reviews.

In addition to securities law, registered firms and individuals are required to comply with the Criminal Code and any other legislation that is relevant to their business, such as money laundering prevention, the regulation of corporations, partnerships and trusts, and privacy rights.

All registered firms and international dealers and international advisers are required to comply with federal laws relating to terrorist financing and United Nations sanctions, and to file a report to this effect with their principal regulator. For more information, see CSA Staff Notice 31-317 Reporting Obligations Relating to Terrorist Financing for Registrants, Exempt International Dealers, and Exempt International Advisers.

Investment dealers and mutual fund dealers

A firm registered as an investment dealer or a mutual fund dealer is generally required to be a member of a self-regulatory organization (SRO). In general, a firm carrying on more than one type of activity requiring registration must register in each applicable category. The firm will have to comply with the requirements of all categories in which it is registered.

If a firm is registered in multiple categories, it must meet the most stringent of the proficiency requirements for the firm’s various categories of registration.

A firm that is a member of an SRO and its dealing representatives are exempt from certain requirements in NI 31-103. This is because the SRO has its own rules for these matters. For more information, see sections 3.16 and 9.3 of NI 31-103.

The Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) works with the OSC to oversee investment dealers. Investment dealers should refer to the IIROC website for more information about the additional rules that apply to IIROC members.

The Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada (MFDA) works with the OSC to oversee mutual fund dealers. Mutual fund dealers should refer to the MFDA website for more information about the additional rules that apply to MFDA members.

For more information:

Secteur


Exigences Permanentes


Un nouveau régime d'inscription pour l'ensemble du Canada est entré en vigueur le 28 septembre 2009. En Ontario, ces réformes ont été adoptées au moyen de modifications apportées à la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario), de l'adoption du Règlement 31-103 sur les obligations et dispenses d'inscription (Règlement 31-103) et de modifications aux règles connexes. Des périodes de transition s'appliquent à certaines des exigences.

Les sociétés inscrites sont assujetties à de nombreuses exigences permanentes en vertu du nouveau régime d'inscription. Elles doivent notamment :

La CVMO mène des examens de conformité dans le but de vérifier si les sociétés se conforment au droit des valeurs mobilières. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à Examens de conformité de la CVMO.

En plus du droit des valeurs mobilières, les sociétés et les particuliers inscrits sont tenus de se conformer au Code criminel et aux autres lois qui s'appliquent à leurs activités, notamment la prévention du blanchiment d'argent, la réglementation des sociétés par actions, des sociétés en nom collectif et des fiducies, ainsi que le respect de la vie privée.

Toutes les sociétés inscrites ainsi que les courtiers et conseillers internationaux sont tenus de se conformer aux lois fédérales relatives au financement du terrorisme et aux sanctions des Nations Unies et de déposer un rapport à cet effet auprès de leur autorité principale. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à l'Avis 31-317 du personnel des ACVM – Obligations de déclaration relatives au financement des activités terroristes pour les personnes inscrites en vertu de la législation en valeurs mobilières, les courtiers internationaux dispensés et les conseillers internationaux dispensés. (Disponible en anglais seulement)

Courtiers en valeurs mobilières et courtiers de fonds mutuels

Une société qui est inscrite à titre de courtier en valeurs mobilières ou de fonds mutuels doit généralement être membre d'un organisme d'autoréglementation (OAR). En règle générale, une société qui exerce plus d'un type d'activité nécessitant une inscription doit s'inscrire dans chaque catégorie applicable. Elle devra se conformer aux exigences de toutes les catégories dans lesquelles elle est inscrite.

Si une société est inscrite dans de multiples catégories, elle doit satisfaire aux exigences de compétence les plus strictes relatives à ces catégories.

Les sociétés membres d'un OAR et leurs représentants de courtier sont dispensés de certaines des exigences énoncées dans le Règlement 31-103, puisque l'OAR possède ses propres règles en la matière. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter aux articles 3.16 et 9.3 du Règlement 31-103.

L'Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM) collabore avec la CVMO pour superviser les courtiers en valeurs mobilières. Ces derniers doivent consulter le site Web de l'OCRCVM pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les autres règles qui s'appliquent aux membres de l'organisme.

L'Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels (ACCFM) collabore avec la CVMO pour superviser les courtiers de fonds mutuels. Ces derniers doivent consulter le site Web de l'ACCFM (Disponible en anglais seulement) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les autres règles qui s'appliquent aux membres de l'association.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements