Industry


Asking for Relief


Firms and individuals may apply for exemptive relief if they are unable to comply with a requirement in securities law. The process for exemptive relief applications varies depending on the type of relief requested and whether relief is required in more than one Canadian jurisdiction. A fee applies to exemptive relief applications. For more information, see Fees.

For information on applying for exemptive relief from any requirements other than proficiency requirements for an individual, see Asking for Relief under Information for Companies.

Relief from proficiency requirements for an individual

Individuals unable to comply with the proficiency requirements set out in Part 3 of National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations for a category of registration must submit the application “Apply for Exemption” through the National Registration Database (NRD), when they submit their application for registration in that category.

The exemption must include a detailed description of the individual’s experience and other qualifications. Individuals should also provide reference letters and proof of completion of any relevant educational accomplishments. These supporting documents can be submitted in paper format.

For more information:

Secteur


Demande de Dispense


Les sociétés et les particuliers peuvent faire une demande de dispense s'ils sont incapables de se conformer à une exigence du droit des valeurs mobilières. Le processus relatif aux demandes de dispense varie en fonction du type de dispense demandé et selon que la dispense est requise dans plus d'un territoire de compétence canadien. Des droits s'appliquent aux demandes de dispense. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, se reporter à Droits.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les demandes de dispense d'une exigence autre que celles de compétences applicables à un particulier, se reporter à Demande de dispense sous Renseignements à l'intention des sociétés.

Dispense des exigences de compétence pour un particulier

Les particuliers qui sont incapables de se conformer aux exigences de compétence énoncées à la partie 3 du Règlement 31-103 sur les obligations et dispenses d'inscription pour une catégorie d'inscription doivent soumettre une demande de dispense par le biais de la Base de données nationale d'inscription (BDNI) au moment où ils soumettent leur demande d'inscription dans la catégorie en question.

La dispense doit comprendre une description détaillée de l'expérience et des autres qualités du particulier. Les particuliers doivent également fournir des lettres de référence et une preuve de suivi de toute formation pertinente. Ces documents à l'appui peuvent être soumis en format papier.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements