Securities Law & Instruments


In a Notice published in the OSC Bulletin on July 25, 2008, the Commission invited applications for positions on the Securities Advisory Committee ("SAC"). SAC provides advice to the Commission and staff on a variety of matters including legislative and policy initiatives and important capital markets trends and brings various issues to the attention of the Commission and staff.

The members of SAC have staggered terms. One half of the members recently completed their terms in October 2008. The Commission would like to take this opportunity to thank the members of SAC, listed below, who have served on the Committee with great dedication over the last three years. Their advice and guidance on a range of issues has been very valuable to the Commission.
  • Mark Convery — Ogilvy Renault LLP
  • Carol Hansell — Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
  • Glen R Johnson — Torys LLP
  • Lonnie Kirsh — Kutkevicius Kirsh LLP
  • Margaret Nelligan — Aird & Berlis LLP
  • David Valentine — Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
  • Gina Yee — Scotia Capital, Inc.

The remaining members of SAC will continue until February 2010.
  • Andrew Kingsmill — Bennett Jones
  • John Macfarlane — Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Mark Mandel — White & Case LLP
  • Alfred Page — Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • Andrew Parker — McCarthy Tetrault LLP

The Commission was very impressed with the number of highly qualified practitioners who applied for positions on SAC. Unfortunately, there were far more applicants than there were positions available and selection from among the group was very difficult. The Commission would like to thank everyone who applied for their interest in serving on SAC.

The Commission is pleased to publish the names of the new members who joined in November 2008 with two year terms:
  • John Ciardullo — Stikeman Elliot LLP
  • Pamela Hughes — Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
  • Charlie MacCready — Heenan Blaikie
  • Vincent Mercier — Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
  • Thomas Smee — Royal Bank of Canada
  • Jenny Chu Steinberg — Fraser Milner Casgrain
  • Jennifer Wainwright — Aird & Berlis LLP

The Commission will publish a notice in late 2009 inviting applications for the next group of new SAC members, who will commence their terms in March 2010.

Reference: Monica Kowal
General Counsel
Tel: (416) 593-3653
Fax: (416) 593-3681

November 21, 2008