News & Events

OSC Dialogue 2013

OSC Dialogue 2013 took place on Tuesday, October 8, 2013 at the Toronto Board of Trade, 1 First Canadian Place.

Each year OSC Dialogue brings hundreds of market participants together on issues and trends facing the capital markets. Discussing where we are and where the markets are going is critical to ensuring a strong and healthy regulatory system. Events such as OSC Dialogue play an integral role in achieving this.

New for 2013

This year we’ve made changes to reflect an issues-driven program that aims to “advance the dialogue”:

  • Topics focus on shareholder rights, investor protection, enforcement and capital formation.
  • Panels include compelling guest speakers who are renowned experts in their fields.
  • A streamlined structure with plenary sessions seeks to advance discussion on emerging trends, providing greater insight into not only the current issues, but also potential solutions going forward.


8:00 a.m.
8:30 a.m.

Maureen Jensen, Chief Administrative Officer and Executive Director, OSC

8:45 a.m.

Moderator: Howard I. Wetston, Q.C., Chair, OSC

Stephen Halperin, Partner, Goodmans LLP
Martin Lipton, Founding Partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Leo E. Strine, Jr., Chancellor, Court of Chancery (Delaware)
James E. A. Turner, Vice-Chair, OSC

10:15 a.m.

10:30 a.m.

Moderator: Mary G. Condon, Vice-Chair, OSC

Paul Bates, Chair, OSC Investor Advisory Panel
Rhonda Goldberg, Director, Investment Funds, OSC
William R. Horton, Jr., Chief Investment Officer and Executive Vice President, MD Physician Services, Inc.
Doug Steiner, Principal, BEworks

11:45 a.m.

1:00 p.m.

Moderator: Poonam Puri, Associate Dean & Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University

Tom Atkinson, Director, Enforcement, OSC
Andrew M. Calamari, Regional Director, New York Regional Office, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Anthony Doob, Professor Emeritus of Criminology, University of Toronto
Tracey McDermott, Director, Enforcement and Financial Crime, Financial Conduct Authority

2:00 p.m.

Moderator: David Kaufman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Westcourt Capital Corporation

Kevan Cowan, President, TSX Markets and Group Head of Equities, TMX Group
Huston Loke, Director, Corporate Finance, OSC
Jos Schmitt, Chief Executive Officer, Aequitas Innovations Inc.
Peter Schwartz, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Demeure Operating Company Ltd.

3:00 p.m.