Legal Disclaimer

Legal Disclaimer


Terms of Use
This web site, including the OSC's Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube pages are maintained by the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC or we). Use of this web site is subject to your acceptance of and compliance with the terms and conditions of use set out below (Terms of Use). If these Terms of Use are not acceptable to you, please do not use this web site.

Acceptance of Terms of Use
By using this web site, you agree that you have accepted these Terms of Use. These Terms of Use are subject to change. Although we will endeavour to provide users with reasonable notice of changes, you remain responsible to inform yourself of the Terms of Use then in effect whenever you use this web site. Your continued use of this web site following any changes constitutes your acceptance of the revised Terms of Use.

Web Site and Content
This web site, and the information and other content found on this web site and the OSC's Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube pages (Site Content), are provided as a non-commercial public service for non-commercial, educational and informational purposes only. Although the Site Content is believed to be accurate, complete, and up to date when posted, we cannot guarantee that the Site Content is or will remain accurate, complete or current, or that the Site Content will be available without interruption. The Site Content is not intended to provide investment, financial, accounting, legal, tax or other professional advice and should not be relied upon or regarded as a substitute for such advice. We recommend that you seek advice from a qualified professional advisor before acting on any information or other content appearing on this web site or any web site to which it may be linked.

We reserve the right at all times to disclose any information as we deem necessary to satisfy any applicable law, regulation, legal process or governmental request, or to edit, refuse to post or to remove any information or materials, in whole or in part, in our sole discretion.

THIS WEB SITE AND THE SITE CONTENT ARE PROVIDED “AS IS” AND “AS AVAILABLE” WITHOUT ANY REPRESENTATIONS, WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, WHETHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, STATUTORY OR OTHERWISE. THIS INCLUDES BUT IS NOT LIMITED TO WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF MERCHANTABLE QUALITY, MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR FREE OPERATION, AVAILABILITY, RELIABILITY, TITLE, NON-INFRINGEMENT, OR THOSE ARISING OUT OF A COURSE OF DEALING OR USAGE OF TRADE.

THIS WEB SITE IS BEING PROVIDED AS A NON-COMMERCIAL PUBLIC SERVICE, FREE OF ANY CHARGE OR OTHER CONSIDERATION. ACCORDINGLY, TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, IN NO EVENT WILL THE OSC OR ITS MEMBERS, EMPLOYEES OR AGENTS BE LIABLE FOR DAMAGES OF ANY KIND, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, PUNITIVE, EXEMPLARY, AGGRAVATED, ECONOMIC OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO DAMAGES FOR LOSS OF USE, LOST PROFITS OR LOST SAVINGS, LOST OPPORTUNITIES, BUSINESS INTERRUPTION, LOSS OF DATA OR OTHERWISE) ARISING FROM OR IN CONNECTION WITH: (A) THIS WEB SITE; (B) THE SITE CONTENT; (C) THE USE OR INABILITY TO USE THIS WEB SITE OR THE SITE CONTENT; (D) THE USE OF ANY WEB SITE LINKED TO OR FROM THIS WEB SITE; AND (E) ANY PRODUCTS, SERVICES, INFORMATION OR OTHER CONTENT OF A THIRD PARTY FOUND ON THIS WEB SITE OR ANY WEB SITE LINKED TO OR FROM THIS WEB SITE; EVEN IF THE OSC HAS BEEN ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF ANY SUCH DAMAGES.

THE LIMITATIONS, EXCLUSIONS, AND DISCLAIMERS ABOVE WILL APPLY IRRESPECTIVE OF THE NATURE OF THE CAUSE OF ACTION, DEMAND, OR ACTION BY YOU INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO BREACH OF CONTRACT, NEGLIGENCE, TORT, STRICT LIABILITY OR ANY OTHER LEGAL THEORY AND WILL SURVIVE A FUNDAMENTAL BREACH OR BREACHES OR THE FAILURE OF THE ESSENTIAL PURPOSE OF THIS AGREEMENT OR OF ANY REMEDY CONTAINED HEREIN.

Hyperlinks
This web site may contain hyperlinks to web sites that are created and maintained by other public and private sector organizations. We have provided these links for your information and convenience only. These Terms of Use, our privacy policy and our accessibility policy do not apply to third party linked sites. Your use of a third party linked site is at your own risk. We do not recommend or endorse, or exert control over or assume any responsibility or liability for, these other organizations, their web sites, or the products, services, information or other content (including but not limited to any interpretation, comments, opinions or advice) found on those sites.

Hyperlinks to this web site are permitted, provided that: (a) it is a text-only link labelled “Ontario Securities Commission” which directly links users to the URL http://www.osc.gov.on.ca and displays this web site in full-screen (i.e. not “framed”); (b) the hyperlink, in the context in which it appears, does not create the false impression that the entity is associated with or is endorsed or recommended by the OSC and is not otherwise displayed in a manner which could damage or otherwise bring the reputation or goodwill of the OSC into disrepute. The OSC reserves the right to revoke its permission to link to this web site at any time in its sole discretion.

Copyright and other Intellectual Property Rights
© 2009 Ontario Securities Commission, all rights reserved. All right, title and interest in and to this web site and the Site Content, including the copyright and other intellectual property rights therein, are owned by the OSC or such other party as may be indicated. Any trade-marks or trade names appearing on this web site are the property of their respective owners and may not be used without the owner’s prior written consent.

Limited License to Use
Subject to your compliance with the conditions set forth below, you are granted a limited non-exclusive license, solely for non-commercial, educational or informational purposes, to:
  • view, print and download a copy of written Site Content, provided that any copies of written Site Content which are printed or downloaded are unmodified and retain any and all copyright and other proprietary notices; and
  • view or listen to, but not make any copies of, any graphics, images, photographs, video or audio files found on this web site.
Except with the written permission of the OSC or as may be permitted above, you may not adapt, translate, modify, copy, bundle, sell, host, publish, display, disseminate or distribute any Site Content, whether in whole or in part. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, you may not include or incorporate any Site Content, whether in whole or in part, into any database or into any product or service offered for or without fee, or copy and make available any such Site Content onto your own, or any other web site.

Prohibited Uses
You may not use the web site in any manner which could damage, disable, overburden or impair the web site or any system or network connected to the web site or interfere with any other party’s use and enjoyment of the web site. You may not attempt to gain unauthorized access to the web site or any system or network connected to the web site through hacking, password mining or any other means. You may not obtain or attempt to obtain any materials or information through any means not intentionally made available to you through the web site.

Governing Law
These Terms of Use are governed by the laws of the Province of Ontario and the federal laws of Canada applicable therein, without reference to the principles of conflicts of law. In the event of a dispute, you agree to submit to the non-exclusive jurisdiction of the courts located in the Province of Ontario. This web site and the Site Content are physically hosted in the Province of Ontario, Canada.

Déclaration légale


Conditions d'utilisation
Ce site est maintenu par la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario (CVMO ou nous). L'utilisation de ce site Web est conditionnelle à votre acceptation des conditions d'utilisation énoncées ci-dessous et à votre conformité à celles-ci. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec ces conditions d'utilisation, veuillez ne pas utiliser ce site Web.

Acceptation des conditions d'utilisation
En utilisant ce site Web, vous reconnaissez en avoir accepté les conditions d'utilisation. Ces conditions d'utilisation peuvent être modifiées. Bien que nous essayions d'aviser les utilisateurs des changements dans un délai raisonnable, il vous incombe toujours de vous informer des conditions d'utilisation en vigueur au moment où vous utilisez ce site Web. Le fait d'utiliser ce site Web après que des changements y ont été apportés signifie que vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation ainsi révisées.

Site Web et contenu
Ce site Web, les renseignements et tout autre contenu s'y trouvant (contenu du site) sont présentés à titre de service public non commercial, uniquement à des fins d'éducation et d'information non commerciales. Bien que nous estimions que le contenu du site soit exact, complet et à jour au moment où il est affiché, nous ne pouvons pas garantir qu'il l'est ou qu'il le demeurera ou qu'il sera accessible sans interruption. Le contenu du site ne vise aucunement à fournir des conseils professionnels en matière de placements, de finances, de comptabilité, de droit, de fiscalité ou autre et on ne doit pas s'y fier ou le considérer comme un substitut de tels conseils. Nous vous recommandons de demander l'avis d'un conseiller professionnel compétent avant d'agir sur la foi de tout renseignement ou contenu apparaissant sur le présent site Web ou sur tout site Web auquel il peut être relié.

Nous nous réservons le droit à tout moment de divulguer tout renseignement que nous jugeons nécessaire pour nous conformer à toute loi, à tout règlement, à tout acte de procédure ou à toute demande du gouvernement, ou pour modifier, refuser d'afficher ou enlever, en totalité ou en partie, tout renseignement ou document, à notre seule discrétion.

LE PRÉSENT SITE WEB ET SON CONTENU SONT PRÉSENTÉS « TELS QUELS » ET « SUIVANT LES DISPONIBILITÉS » SANS DÉCLARATIONS, GARANTIES OU CONDITIONS EXPLICITES OU IMPLICITES, LÉGALES OU AUTRES, QUE CE SOIT. CELA COMPREND, SANS TOUTEFOIS S'Y LIMITER, LES GARANTIES OU LES CONDITIONS DE QUALITÉ MARCHANDE, D'ADAPTATION À UN USAGE PARTICULIER, DE FONCTIONNEMENT ININTERROMPU OU SANS ERREUR, DE DISPONIBILITÉ, DE FIABILITÉ, DE TITRE OU D'ABSENCE DE CONTREFAÇON OU CELLES DÉCOULANT D'UNE FAÇON HABITUELLE DE TRAITER OU D'UN USAGE DU COMMERCE.

CE SITE WEB EST PRÉSENTÉ À TITRE DE SERVICE PUBLIC NON COMMERCIAL, SANS FRAIS NI AUCUNE AUTRE CONTREPARTIE. PAR CONSÉQUENT, DANS TOUTE LA MESURE AUTORISÉE PAR LA LOI, LA CVMO, SES MEMBRES, SES EMPLOYÉS OU SES MANDATAIRES NE SERONT EN AUCUN CAS RESPONSABLES DE QUELQUE DOMMAGE QUE CE SOIT, Y COMPRIS, SANS TOUTEFOIS S'Y LIMITER, LES DOMMAGES DIRECTS, INDIRECTS, SPÉCIAUX, CONSÉCUTIFS, PUNITIFS, EXEMPLAIRES, AGGRAVÉS OU ÉCONOMIQUES (Y COMPRIS, SANS TOUTEFOIS S'Y LIMITER, LES DOMMAGES RÉSULTANT DE LA PERTE DE JOUISSANCE, DE PROFITS OU D'ÉCONOMIE, D'OCCASIONS MANQUÉES, LES PERTES D'EXPLOITATION, LA PERTE DE DONNÉES OU AUTREMENT) DÉCOULANT DE (OU RELIÉ À) : A) CE SITE WEB, B) SON CONTENU, C) L'UTILISATION OU L'INCAPACITÉ D'UTILISER CE SITE WEB OU SON CONTENU, D) L'UTILISATION DE TOUT SITE WEB RELIÉ À CE SITE WEB ET E) TOUT PRODUIT, SERVICE, RENSEIGNEMENT OU AUTRE CONTENU PROVENANT D'UN TIERS TROUVÉ SUR LE PRÉSENT SITE WEB OU TOUT SITE WEB RELIÉ À CE SITE, MÊME SI LA CVMO A ÉTÉ AVISÉE DE LA POSSIBILITÉ DE TELS DOMMAGES.

LES RESTRICTIONS, LES EXCLUSIONS ET LES AVERTISSEMENTS CI-DESSUS S'APPLIQUERONT SANS TENIR COMPTE DE LA NATURE DU MOTIF D'ACTION, DE LA REQUÊTE OU DE VOS ACTES, Y COMPRIS, SANS TOUTEFOIS S'Y LIMITER, LA RUPTURE DE CONTRAT, LA NÉGLIGENCE, LES DÉLITS CIVILS, LA RESPONSABILITÉ ABSOLUE OU TOUTE AUTRE THÉORIE JURIDIQUE, ET DEMEURERONT EN VIGUEUR À LA SUITE D'UNE OU DE PLUSIEURS VIOLATIONS FONDAMENTALES OU D'UN MANQUEMENT À L'OBJET ESSENTIEL DU PRÉSENT ACCORD OU DE TOUT RECOURS MENTIONNÉ AUX PRÉSENTES.

Hyperliens
Ce site Web peut contenir des liens vers d’autres sites qui sont créés et tenus à jour par des organismes des secteurs privé et public. Nous avons offert ces liens à titre d’information et à des fins de commodité uniquement. Les présentes conditions d'utilisation, notre politique de protection de la vie privée et notre politique en matière d'accessibilité ne s'appliquent pas aux sites de tiers reliés à notre site. L'utilisation du site d'un tiers ainsi relié se fait à vos propres risques. Nous ne recommandons ni n'appuyons ces autres organismes, leurs sites Web ou les produits, les services, les renseignements ou tout autre contenu (y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, les interprétations, les commentaires, les opinions ou les conseils) se trouvant sur ces sites, n'avons aucune emprise sur ceux-ci ou n'assumons aucune responsabilité à leur égard.

Les hyperliens vers le présent site Web sont autorisés, à condition que : a) ce soit un lien contenant exclusivement du texte marqué « Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario » qui renvoie les utilisateurs directement à l'adresse http://www.osc.gov.on.ca et affiche ce site en plein écran (c.-à-d. pas « encadré »), b) l'hyperlien, dans le contexte où il apparaît, ne donne pas la fausse impression que l'entité est associée à la CVMO ou que cette dernière l'appuie ou la recommande et ne soit pas autrement présenté d'une façon qui pourrait endommager ou déshonorer la réputation ou la bonne volonté de la CVMO. La CVMO se réserve le droit de retirer l'autorisation d'insérer un lien vers le présent site Web à tout moment, à son entière discrétion.

Droits d'auteur et autres droits de propriété intellectuelle
© 2009 Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario, tous droits réservés. Tous les droits, titres et intérêts relatifs au présent site Web et à son contenu, y compris les droits d'auteur et autres droits de propriété intellectuelle relatifs à ceux-ci, appartiennent à la CVMO ou à une tierce partie, selon ce qui est indiqué. Toute marque de commerce ou appellation commerciale apparaissant sur ce site Web appartient à ses propriétaires respectifs et ne peut pas être utilisée sans le consentement écrit préalable de ces derniers.

Licence d'utilisation limitée
Sous réserve de votre conformité aux conditions énoncées ci-dessous, la CVMO vous accorde une licence limitée non exclusive, uniquement à des fins d'éducation et d'information non commerciales, de :
  • consulter, imprimer et télécharger une copie du contenu écrit du site, à condition que toutes les copies imprimées ou téléchargées ne soient pas modifiées et qu'elles contiennent tous les avis de droits d'auteur et autres droits de propriété intellectuelle;
  • regarder les graphiques, les images et les photographies, écouter les fichiers audio ou visionner les fichiers vidéo, sans toutefois en faire de copie.
Sauf avec l'autorisation écrite de la CVMO ou dans la mesure où cela peut être autorisé ci-dessus, vous ne pouvez pas adapter, traduire, modifier, copier, regrouper, vendre, héberger, publier, afficher, diffuser ou distribuer le contenu du site, que ce soit en totalité ou en partie. Sans limiter la généralité de ce qui précède, vous ne pouvez inclure ni intégrer le contenu du site, en totalité ou en partie, à aucune base de données ou autre produit ou service offert à titre gratuit ou onéreux, ou le copier et le rendre accessible sur votre propre site Web ou sur tout autre site.

Utilisations interdites
Vous ne pouvez pas utiliser le site Web de façon à endommager, à rendre inutilisable, à surcharger ou à compromettre le site Web ou tout système ou réseau qui y est relié ou gêner l'utilisation et la jouissance du site Web par un tiers. Vous ne pouvez pas tenter d'accéder sans autorisation au site Web ou à tout système ou réseau qui y est relié au moyen de piratage, d'extraction de mot de passe ou de toute autre façon. Vous ne pouvez pas obtenir ou tenter d'obtenir des documents ou des renseignements par tout moyen qui n'est pas mis intentionnellement à votre disposition par l'intermédiaire du site Web.

Loi applicable
Les présentes conditions d'utilisation sont régies par les lois de la province de l'Ontario et par les lois du Canada qui s'y appliquent, sans référence aux principes de conflits de lois. En cas de différend, vous acceptez de vous soumettre à la compétence non exclusive des tribunaux situés dans la province de l'Ontario. Le présent site Web et son contenu sont physiquement hébergés dans la province de l'Ontario, au Canada.