Securities Law & Instruments

Legislative Reviews


Under the Securities Act and Commodity Futures Act, the Ontario government is required to appoint advisory committees to review securities or commodity futures legislation, regulations and rules relating to matters dealt with by the Ontario Securities Commission, generally every four years after the appointment of the previous advisory committee.

Appointments under the Securities Act:

The Minister of Finance appointed an independent committee (the Five Year Review Committee) in March 2000 to review securities legislation, regulations and rules and the legislative needs of the Commission. The Five Year Review Committee issued its draft report on May 29, 2002 and subsequently released its final report for submission to the Minister of Finance on May 29, 2003.

Appointments under the Commodity Futures Act:

The Minister responsible for securities legislation appointed the first advisory committee (the CFA Advisory Committee) in May 2005 to review commodity futures legislation, regulations and rules. The CFA Advisory Committee issued its interim report on May 26, 2006 and final report in January 2007.


Securities Review Advisory Committee



CFA Advisory Committee

Droit des valeurs mobilières

Études de la loi


En vertu de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières et de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises, le gouvernement de l'Ontario est tenu de nommer, généralement quatre ans après la nomination du comité consultatif précédent, des comités consultatifs chargés d'examiner les lois, les règles et les règlements régissant les valeurs mobilières et les contrats à terme sur marchandises relativement aux affaires dont s'occupe la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario.

Nominations en vertu de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières:

Le ministre des Finances a nommé, en mars 2000, un comité indépendant (le Comité d'examen quinquennal) chargé d'examiner les lois, les règles et les règlements sur les valeurs mobilières et d'étudier les besoins d'ordre législatif de la Commission. Le Comité d'examen quinquennal a publié son rapport préliminaire le 29 mai 2002, puis a publié, le 29 mai 2003, son rapport final qu'il a présenté au ministre des Finances.

Nominations en vertu de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises:

Le ministre responsable de la législation sur les valeurs mobilières a nommé, en mai 2005, le premier comité consultatif (Comité d'examen de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises) chargé d'examiner les lois, les règles et les règlements sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises. Le Comité d'examen de la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises a publié un rapport provisoire le 26 mai 2006 et un rapport final en janvier 2007.


Comité consultatif d'examen de la législation sur les valeurs mobilières



Comité consultatif des CFA