OSC Proceedings

Litigation Assistance Program


Following the successful completion of a one-year pilot Litigation Assistance Program (the “Program”), the OSC has approved the official launch of the OSC Program commencing on Thursday, October 18, 2012. The Program is designed to provide duty counsel services to unrepresented respondents who are involved in enforcement proceedings before the Commission.

The LAP is provided by a roster of external volunteer lawyers and not by the Commission. Although the Commission facilitates applications for assistance under the LAP, it cannot guarantee that legal services will be available in any particular instance.

Litigation Assistance

Under the LAP, any unrepresented Respondent may apply for volunteer legal advice subject to availability on a first-come, first-serve basis and the availability of volunteer lawyer. The Volunteer lawyers do not provide complete litigation support for all aspects of a proceeding.

The Volunteer lawyers may provide litigation support to unrepresented Respondents only during one or more of the following stages of an enforcement proceeding: pre-hearing conferences; settlement conferences and / or hearings; sanctions and costs hearings and / or on an exceptional basis, motions. Respondents who wish legal advice outside the Program must arrange their own legal counsel.

To learn more, see the Information Sheet and Terms and Conditions for further details.

Volunteer lawyers participating in the LAP are drawn from legal counsel at the following participating law firms: Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, Stockwoods LLP, Torys LLP, Wardle Daley Bernstein LLP, Davies Ward Phillips Vineberg LLP, Bennett Jones LLP, Babin Barristers LLP, RBC Law Group and Weir Foulds LLP.

Further Information

To apply for the program or for additional information, please contact the program administrator: LAP@osc.gov.on.ca

Instances


Programme d'aide en matière de procédure


À la suite de la réussite d'un programme pilote d'aide en matière de procédure de un an (le « programme »), la CVMO a approuvé le lancement officiel du programme à compter du jeudi 18 octobre 2012. Ce dernier est conçu pour mettre un avocat de service à la disposition des intimés non représentés par avocat dans le cadre d'instances d'application de la loi devant la Commission.

Le programme est offert par des avocats externes bénévoles figurant sur une liste et non par la Commission. Même si cette dernière facilite les demandes d'aide en vertu du programme, elle ne peut pas garantir que des services juridiques seront accessibles dans une instance particulière.

Aide en matière de procédure

En vertu du programme d'aide en matière de procédure, tout intimé non représenté par avocat peut présenter une demande pour obtenir des conseils juridiques gratuits, sous réserve de la disponibilité d'un avocat bénévole selon la règle du premier arrivé, premier servi. Les avocats bénévoles n'offrent pas de soutien complet couvrant tous les aspects d'une instance.

Les avocats bénévoles ne peuvent offrir du soutien en matière de procédure aux intimés non représentés par avocat qu'à l'une ou l'autre des étapes suivantes d'une instance d'application de la loi : les conférences préparatoires à l'audience, les conférences et (ou) les audiences de règlement, les audiences relatives aux sanctions et aux dépens et (ou) les motions à titre exceptionnel. Les intimés qui désirent obtenir des conseils juridiques en dehors du programme doivent retenir les services de leur propre conseiller juridique.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la feuille de renseignements et les conditions.

Les avocats bénévoles qui participent au programme sont issus des cabinets d'avocats participants suivants : Borden Ladner Gervais s.r.l., Stockwoods s.r.l., Torys s.r.l., Wardle Daley Bernstein s.r.l., Davies Ward Phillips Vineberg s.r.l., Bennett Jones s.r.l., Babin Barristers s.r.l., RBC Law Group et Weir Foulds s.r.l..

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour participer au programme ou pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez écrire à l'administrateur du programme à l'adresse LAP@osc.gov.on.ca.



.