Investors

OSC's Role


Providing protection to investors is a key part of the OSC’s mandate. As a regulatory agency, the OSC administers and enforces the Securities Act (Ontario) and the Commodity Futures Act (Ontario). Specifically, the OSC works to protect investors by making and enforcing rules governing the securities industry in Ontario.

Making rules

The OSC makes rules that aim to prevent misconduct and maintain the integrity of the markets. As part of overall policy development, we consult with investors and other organizations to identify and address issues of interest and concern to investors.

For example, the OSC has established the Office of the Investor which leads the effort at the OSC to identify and address relevant investor issues and concerns. The Office would like to hear your views on investor related initiatives.

Monitoring compliance

The OSC monitors market participants for compliance with Ontario securities law. If we find that an individual or firm is not complying with the law and we cannot resolve our concerns with them, we can take a number of actions.

For example, the OSC can issue a cease trade order on an issuer’s securities, order a public company or investment fund to restate and refile its financial statements, or impose terms and conditions on a registration. Where appropriate, we may take enforcement action.

Enforcing rules

The OSC investigates alleged breaches of Ontario securities law, such as misleading disclosure, abusive trading practices and illegal insider trading. If an individual or company contravenes securities law, the OSC can impose sanctions. For example, we can ban individuals from leadership roles in public companies, and order firms and individuals to pay a penalty.

Provincial securities legislation also gives the OSC the authority to go to the Ontario courts to prosecute accused wrongdoers and send a strong message of deterrence.

However, as a regulatory agency, we do not normally recover money for investors. See Help with getting your money back for information on organizations that may be able to help you get your money back.

 

Spotlight On - Proceedings

OSC in the Community Save the Date - OSC Dialogue 2014

Investisseurs


Rôle de la CVMO


La protection des investisseurs constitue un élément essentiel du mandat de la CVMO. À titre d'organisme de réglementation, la CVMO administre et applique la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario et la Loi sur les contrats à terme sur marchandises de l'Ontario. Plus précisément, la CVMO protège les investisseurs au moyen de l'élaboration et de l'application de règles régissant le secteur des valeurs mobilières en Ontario.

Élaboration des règles

La CVMO établit des règles visant à prévenir les inconduites et à maintenir l’intégrité des marchés. Dans le cadre de l’élaboration générale des politiques, nous consultons les investisseurs et d’autres intervenants en vue de déterminer les questions qui les intéressent et les préoccupent, et d’y donner suite.

À cette fin, la CVMO a mis sur pied le Bureau de la politique, de l’éducation et de la sensibilisation des investisseurs qui dirige les efforts qu’elle accomplit pour cerner et résoudre les préoccupations et les problèmes pertinents des investisseurs. Le bureau aimerait connaître votre opinion sur les initiatives à l’intention des investisseurs.

Surveillance de la conformité

La CVMO surveille les participants au marché à des fins de conformité au droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières. Lorsqu'une personne ou une société ne se conforme pas aux lois et que la CVMO ne peut résoudre les problèmes, elle peut prendre un certain nombre de mesures.

Elle peut notamment rendre une Elle peut notamment rendre une sur les titres d'un émetteur, enjoindre à une société ouverte ou un fonds d'investissement de rajuster et déposer à nouveau ses états financiers ou imposer des conditions relativement à une inscription. Au besoin, elle peut prendre des mesures coercitives.

Application des règles

La CVMO enquête sur les violations présumées du droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières, telles que l'information trompeuse, les pratiques commerciales abusives et les délits d'initiés. Lorsqu'une personne ou une société contrevient au droit ontarien des valeurs mobilières, la CVMO peut imposer des sanctions. Par exemple, elle peut interdire à des personnes d'exercer des rôles de direction au sein de sociétés ouvertes et ordonner à des sociétés et à des particuliers de payer une pénalité.

La loi provinciale sur les valeurs mobilières accorde également à la CVMO le pouvoir de s'adresser aux tribunaux de l'Ontario afin d'intenter des poursuites contre les fautifs qu'elle accuse et de transmettre un message clair de dissuasion.

Toutefois, en tant qu'organisme de réglementation, nous ne recouvrons pas normalement l'argent des investisseurs.