Investors

Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI)


OBSI is a free, independent service for resolving investment disputes between participating firms and their clients if they can't solve them on their own. If OBSI decides that a firm has acted unfairly, made an error or given its client bad advice, and the client lost money as a result, OBSI will recommend that the firm restore the client’s financial position to where it should have been. The limit for their recommendations is $350,000.

In December 2013, OBSI announced changes to its terms of reference and to its processes following substantial reforms. The terms of reference describe the principal powers and duties of OBSI, the duties of participating firms, the scope of its mandate and the process of OBSI for receiving, investigating and seeking resolution of financial services customer complaints. The terms of reference are available on OBSI’s website (available in French).

In 2014, amendments to National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations (Amendments) came into force, which require all registered dealers and advisers, outside of Québec, to use OBSI as the common service provider for dispute resolution services. After August 1, 2014 all registered dealers and registered advisers, outside of Québec1, including portfolio managers, exempt market dealers and scholarship plan dealers, had to make OBSI available to their clients as their dispute resolution provider.

On this page:

  1. About the Joint Regulators Committee
  2. Independent review
  3. Publications
  4. Other information


1In Québec, the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) provides a mediation service to those clients of all registered dealers and advisers who reside in Québec. The Québec regime remains unchanged and firms registered in Québec have to inform clients residing in Québec of the availability of the AMF mediation service.


About the Joint Regulators Committee


In conjunction with the passing of the Amendments, the CSA and OBSI signed a Memorandum of Understanding (available in French) which provides an oversight framework for the CSA members and OBSI to cooperate and communicate constructively, and to ensure that OBSI continues to meet the standards set by the CSA. The standards are set out in the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and include: governance; independence and standard of fairness; processes to perform functions on a timely and fair basis; fees and costs; resources; accessibility; systems and controls; core methodologies; transparency; and, information sharing.

The CSA jurisdictions and OBSI agreed with the SROs to form the OBSI Joint Regulators Committee (JRC) with a mandate to:

  • facilitate a holistic approach to information sharing and monitor the dispute resolution process with an overall view to promoting investor protection and confidence in the external dispute resolution system;
  • support fairness, accessibility and effectiveness of the dispute resolution process; and
  • facilitate regular communication and consultation among JRC members and OBSI.

The Ontario Securities Commission is the current chair of the JRC.


Members and frequency of meetings


The JRC meets regularly with OBSI to discuss governance and operational matters. Members of the JRC are representatives from the CSA (CSA designated representatives are from British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario and Québec ), IIROC and MFDA.

The JRC meets on a regularly scheduled basis, typically four times each year.

As provided in the MOU, the JRC will meet with the Board of Directors of OBSI at least once a year to discuss, among other things:

  • material operating issues, including fees, specific to OBSI
  • OBSI governance matters
  • effectiveness of OBSI’s dispute resolution practices.

Contacting the JRC


You may contact the JRC on any matter relating to the JRC’s oversight of OBSI by email at: ContactJRC-CMOR@acvm-csa.ca


JRC information


Annual Reports

Since its formation in 2014, the JRC has published three Annual Reports on its activities:

2016

2015

2014



2 The Autorité des marchés financiers became a member of the JRC as of December 1, 2015.


Systemic Issues Protocol

Given the removal of the investigation of systemic issues from the OBSI Terms of Reference, the Memorandum of Understanding provides for reporting by the Chair of OBSI's Board of Directors about issues that appear likely to have significant regulatory implications, including issues that appear to affect multiple clients.

In 2015 the JRC finalized with OBSI a protocol to define potential systemic issues and to set out a regulatory approach to address these issues when reported by OBSI.



Independent review


The Memorandum of Understanding requires that an independent review of OBSI's operations and practices on the investment side of OBSI’s mandate commence within two years of the Amendments (that is, by May 1, 2016). Following the issuance of a Request for Proposal, OBSI’s Board of Directors appointed Deborah Battell of Headway Consulting to be the evaluator. Consultations with stakeholders took place in the early part of 2016 and a final report with findings and recommendations was issued on June 6, 2016.


On June 6, 2016 the JRC issued a statement in response to the release of the independent review expressing support for OBSI as the dispute resolution service, and setting out the Committee’s next steps in reviewing and analyzing the report’s findings and recommendations.


Publications


On December 7th, the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) and Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada (MFDA) released a joint Notice that highlights concerns about some registered firms’ complaint handling systems and participation in OBSI’s services, and sets out potential regulatory responses. The notice also outlines staff’s concerns regarding the use of an internal “ombudsman” as part of complaint handling systems.


2017


Other Infomation


OBSI Annual Reports

You also may wish to review OBSI’s Annual Report for its fiscal year 2015:


For additional information on OBSI and its role in resolving disputes between investment firms and their customers, please go to OBSI.ca.

Investisseurs

Ombudsman des services bancaires et d'investissement (OSBI)



L'OSBI offre un service gratuit et indépendant de résolution des différends en matière de placements entre les sociétés participantes et leurs clients s'ils ne peuvent les régler eux-mêmes. Si l'OSBI décide qu'une société a agi de façon injuste, a commis une erreur ou a mal conseillé son client et que celui-ci a, par conséquent, perdu de l'argent, l'OSBI recommandera que la société rétablisse la situation financière du client à ce qu'elle aurait dû être. Ses recommandations se limitent à une somme de 350 000 $.
En décembre 2013, l'OSBI a annoncé des changements à son cadre de référence et à ses processus à la suite de réformes importantes. Le cadre de référence décrit les principaux pouvoirs et devoirs de l'OSBI, les obligations des sociétés participantes, la portée de son mandat et le processus en vertu duquel l'OSBI reçoit les plaintes des clients en matière de services financiers, mène les enquêtes à cet égard et cherche à les résoudre. Le cadre de référence est accessible sur le site Web de l'OSBI (version française).
En 2014, les modifications apportées au Règlement 31-103 sur les obligations et dispenses d'inscription et les obligations continues des personnes inscrites (modifications) sont entrées en vigueur, obligeant tous les courtiers et conseillers inscrits à l'extérieur du Québec à faire appel à l'OSBI à titre de fournisseur commun de services de règlement des différends. À partir du 1er août 2014, tous les courtiers et conseillers inscrits à l'extérieur du Québec1, y compris les gestionnaires de portefeuille, les courtiers sur le marché dispensé et les courtiers en plans de bourse d'études, ont dû mettre à la disposition de leurs clients l'OSBI comme fournisseur de services de règlement des différends.
Sur cette page :

 




1 Au Québec, l'Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) offre un service de médiation aux clients de tous les courtiers et conseillers inscrits qui résident au Québec. Le régime demeure inchangé au Québec, et les sociétés inscrites au Québec doivent informer leurs clients qui résident au Québec qu'ils peuvent faire appel au service de médiation de l'AMF.
À propos du comité mixte des organismes de réglementation


Avec l'adoption des modifications, les ACVM et l'OSBI ont signé un protocole d'entente (version française) qui prévoit un cadre de surveillance pour que les membres des ACVM et l'OSBI puissent collaborer et communiquer de manière constructive et que l'OSBI continue de respecter les normes établies par les ACVM. Les normes sont énoncées dans le protocole d'entente (PE) et comprennent la gouvernance, l'indépendance et la norme d'équité, les processus permettant d'exécuter des tâches en temps opportun et de manière équitable, les droits et les coûts, les ressources, l'accessibilité, les systèmes et les mesures de surveillance, les méthodologies fondamentales, la transparence et l'échange de renseignements.
Les territoires de compétence faisant partie des ACVM et l'OSBI ont convenu avec les organismes d'autoréglementation (OAR) de mettre sur pied le comité mixte des organismes de réglementation (CMOR) de l'OSBI qui a le mandat suivant :

  • adopter une démarche globale pour l'échange de renseignements et surveiller le processus de règlement des différends dans le but général de promouvoir la protection des investisseurs et la confiance dans le système externe de règlement des différends;
  • appuyer l'équité, l'accessibilité et l'efficacité du processus de règlement des différends;
  • faciliter la communication et les consultations régulières entre les membres du CMOR et l'OSBI.



À l'heure actuelle, la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario préside le comité mixte des organismes de réglementation.


Les membres et la fréquence des réunions


Le CMOR rencontre régulièrement l'OSBI afin de discuter de gouvernance et de questions opérationnelles. Les membres du CMOR sont des représentants des ACVM (représentants des ACVM désignés de la Colombie-Britannique, de l'Alberta, de l'Ontario et du Québec), de l'OCRCVM et de l'ACCFM.
Les membres du CMOR se réunissent régulièrement, à des dates prévues, généralement quatre fois par année.
Comme le prévoit le PE, le CMOR doit rencontrer le conseil d'administration de l'OSBI au moins une fois par année afin de discuter, entre autres, des points suivants :

  • les questions importantes de fonctionnement, y compris les droits, particulières à l'OSBI;
  • les questions de gouvernance de l'OSBI;
  • l'efficacité des pratiques de règlement des différends de l'OSBI.




Communiquer avec le CMOR


Vous pouvez communiquer avec le CMOR sur toute question relative à la supervision du comité mixte des organismes de réglementation de l'OSBI par courriel à l'adresse suivante : ContactJRC-CMOR@acvm-csa.ca.


Renseignements sur le comité mixte des organismes de réglementation


Rapports annuels


Depuis sa création en 2014, le CMOR a publié deux rapports annuels sur ses activités :
2015

Rapport annuel 2014




2 L'Autorité des marchés financiers est devenue membre du CMOR le 1er décembre 2015.

Protocole concernant les problèmes systémiques



Étant donné le retrait du pouvoir de mener des enquêtes sur les problèmes systémiques du mandat de l'OSBI, le protocole d'entente prévoit que le président du conseil d'administration de l'OSBI rendra compte des problèmes qui semblent susceptibles d'avoir des répercussions réglementaires importantes, y compris les problèmes qui semblent concerner de multiples clients.
En 2015, le CMOR a mis au point avec l'OSBI un protocole afin de définir les problèmes systémiques potentiels et d'établir une démarche réglementaire pour régler ces problèmes lorsqu'ils sont signalés par l'OSBI.

 



Examen indépendant


Le protocole d'entente exige qu'un examen indépendant des activités et des pratiques de l'OSBI qui concerne les aspects du mandat de l'OSBI liés aux investissements commence dans les deux ans suivant les modifications (c'est-à-dire le 1er mai 2016). Après la publication d'une demande de proposition, le conseil d'administration de l'OSBI a nommé Deborah Battell du cabinet Headway Consulting à titre d'évaluatrice. Des consultations avec les intervenants ont eu lieu au début de 2016, et un rapport final contenant les conclusions et des recommandations a été publié le 6 juin 2016.



Le 6 juin 2016, le CMOR a publié une déclaration en réponse à la publication de l'examen indépendant dans laquelle il exprimait son soutien à l'OSBI en tant que service de résolution des différends et énonçait les prochaines étapes de l'examen et de l'analyse des conclusions et des recommandations du rapport.


Autre information


Rapports annuels de l'OSBI


Vous pouvez également vous reporter au rapport annuel de l'OSBI pour l'exercice 2015 :



Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'OSBI et son rôle dans le règlement des différends entre les sociétés d'investissement et leurs clients, veuillez consulter le site OBSI.ca.