Investors


Over-the-Counter Derivatives Regulation in Canada


The CSA Derivatives Committee has released CSA Consultation Paper 91-401 Over-the-Counter Derivatives Regulation in Canada, a public consultation paper that outlines deficiencies in the OTC derivatives market and outlines proposals regarding their regulation. The specific issues raised include: mandatory reporting of all derivatives trades by Canadian counterparties to a trade repository; regulatory authority of provincial regulators to mandate electronic trading of OTC derivatives; mandatory central clearing of OTC derivatives if appropriate for clearing; imposing capital; and, collateral requirements to reflect appropriately the risks that an entity assumes; exemptions for defined categories of end-users.

The Panel is monitoring the evolving regulation with regards to OTC derivatives and the extent to which such regulation addresses systemic risk and market transparency issues. In support of those efforts, we are requesting feedback regarding the consultation paper which will in turn assist the Panel to formulate its position with regards to the consultation paper. You may provide your comments by email by selecting the “Submit Comments” box below. You may also provide written comments in hard copy or electronic form. It would be helpful to receive your comments by December 31, 2010. If you prefer to send your comments in hard copy or electronic form instead of the email comment box, you may send them to the address below. All comments will be forwarded to the Investor Advisory Panel.

Allan Krystie
Senior Administrator, Investor Advisory Panel
Ontario Securities Commission
20 Queen Street West
Suite 1900, Box 55
Toronto, ON M5H 3S8
Email: iap@osc.gov.on.ca

Please note that any comments submitted here are intended for the Investor Advisory Panel’s use only. If you wish to send comments to the Canadian Securities Administrators Derivatives Committee, please review the instructions on page 2 of the CSA Consultation Paper directly below.

Investisseurs


Réglementation des dérivés de gré à gré au Canada


Le Comité des ACVM sur les dérivés a publié le Document de consultation 91-401 des ACVM sur la réglementation des dérivés de gré à gré au Canada, un document de consultation publique qui décrit les lacunes du marché des dérivés de gré à gré et expose les grandes lignes des mesures proposées pour en assurer la réglementation. Les questions précises qui y sont soulevées comprennent l'obligation pour les contreparties canadiennes de déclarer toutes les opérations sur dérivés à un référentiel central, le pouvoir réglementaire des organismes provinciaux de réglementation d'imposer la négociation des dérivés de gré à gré par voie électronique, la compensation centrale obligatoire des dérivés jugés compensables, l'imposition d'exigences en matière de fonds propres et de garanties proportionnellement aux risques auxquels une entité s’expose et les dispenses pour certaines catégories d’utilisateurs finaux.

Le comité surveille l'évolution de la réglementation des dérivés de gré à gré et la mesure dans laquelle elle aborde les problèmes de risque systémique et de transparence du marché. Pour appuyer ces efforts, nous sollicitons des commentaires sur le document de consultation, ce qui aidera le comité à prendre position à l'égard de ce document. Vous pouvez formuler vos commentaires par courriel en cochant la case « Soumettre des commentaires » ci-dessous. Vous pouvez également les transmettre sur papier ou par voie électronique. Il serait utile que nous recevions les commentaires d'ici le 31 décembre 2010. Si vous préférez formuler vos commentaires sur papier ou par voie électronique plutôt que d'utiliser la case de commentaires, vous pouvez les faire parvenir à l'adresse ci-dessous. Tous les commentaires seront transmis au Groupe consultatif des investisseurs.

Allan Krystie
Administrateur principal, Groupe consultatif des investisseurs
Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario
20, rue Queen Ouest
Bureau 1900, C.P. 55
Toronto (Ontario )  M5H 3S8
Courriel : iap@osc.gov.on.ca

Veuillez prendre note que tous les commentaires envoyés à cette adresse serviront seulement au Groupe consultatif des investisseurs. Si vous désirez soumettre des commentaires au Comité des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières sur les dérivés, veuillez consulter les directives de la page 2 du document de consultation des ACVM, dont le lien figure ci-dessous.