Investors


Panel Members


The Investor Advisory Panel consists of seven members, including the Panel Chair. Each member of the Panel has been appointed for a two-year term.

Connie Craddock
Letty Dewar
Harold Geller
Ken Kivenko
Alison Knight
Ursula Menke, Chair
Louise Tardif




Connie Craddock

As the former Vice-President of Public Affairs at the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC), Ms. Craddock has considerable experience with issues related to Canadian investors. Ms. Craddock also has experience in consulting and communications in both corporate and government settings.

Since retiring from IIROC, Ms. Craddock joined the Board of Gilda’s Club, a non-profit organization dedicated to helping individuals touched by cancer. She also does volunteer work in adult literacy.

Ms. Craddock has a Master’s Degree from Concordia University and Degrees from McGill University and Université de Montréal.




Letty Dewar

Mrs. Dewar has been active in the financial industry since 1984, and has a thorough understanding of the mutual funds sector and capital markets. Her experience includes financial planning, Group RSP product design, compliance and operations. She served as Chief Compliance Officer for a major mutual fund company. Subsequently she was the Chief Operations Officer for a portfolio management group that managed approximately $19 billion of mutual fund assets.

Since her retirement, Mrs. Dewar sits on the CFA Society Toronto’s Portfolio Management Committee (Chair September 2014-16). She is a member of the CFA Institute, the CFA Society Toronto and the Genesis Club of Toronto.

Mrs. Dewar holds the CFA designation, a M.B.A. from York University and a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Toronto.




Harold Geller

Harold Geller is a leader in Financial Loss Recovery Group of McBride Bond Christian LLP and an expert on legal issues affecting financial advisors. Mr. Geller assists investors with the analysis of claims and where appropriate, the prosecution and settlement of claims in the civil courts and the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI). Mr. Geller is a well known consumer’s advocate with respect to investor issues as well as a financial industry commentator and a continuing education provider.

Mr. Geller was a 14 year elected member of the Canadian Bar Association (Ontario) and received his L.L.B. from Dalhousie University. He currently sits on the Canadian Bar Association’s Elder Law Executive Committee.




Ken Kivenko

As a renowned investor advocate, Mr. Kivenko brings extensive experience of research and advocacy in retail investor issues. He is the president and owner of Kenmar which assists investors with dispute resolution. He has also established a well-used web-site www.canadianfundwatch.com.

Mr. Kivenko holds a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Electronics and a Diploma in Management from McGill University and is a Fellow in the American Society for Quality Control, a Member of the Association of Engineers of Ontario, and is the Chair of the Advisory Committee of the Small Investor Protection Association.




Alison Knight

Alison Knight has demonstrated a career-long commitment to consumer advocacy and stakeholder engagement. Ms. Knight is a life member and former board member of the Consumers Council of Canada. She has served on the boards of numerous professional, regulatory and non-profit organizations and held senior executive positions with companies in the financial services sector.

Ms. Knight received her Bachelor of Commerce degree from Queen’s University and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario.




Ursula Menke
Chair

Ursula Menke brings more than 30 years of public and private sector experience in finance, management, law, regulatory matters, operations and corporate governance. Most recently she was Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC). As a Commissioner of the FCAC, Ms. Menke examined matters relating to federal consumer protection laws and focused on building a competitive marketplace by protecting and informing consumers of financial products and services.

Ms. Menke received her Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Civil Law degrees from McGill University. She also earned a teaching diploma from the University of Alberta.




Louise Tardif

Ms. Tardif was an investment advisor for 22 years until her retirement in 2008 from National Bank Financial, where she was also manager of their Ottawa branch. She currently sits on several boards including the Board of Trustee of OP Trust, a pension plan with over $16 billion in assets. Ms. Tardif also chairs the board of the Youth Services Bureau of Ottawa and just ended a mandate as a Governor of the University of Ottawa where she chaired the Finance and Treasury Committee.

Ms. Tardif has a Bachelor of Commerce and a M.A. in Religious Study from the University of Ottawa. She is currently a PhD. candidate at the same institution.

Investisseurs


Membres du Groupe

Le Groupe consultatif des investisseurs est formé de sept membres, dont une présidente. Chaque membre siègera pour un mandat de deux ans.

Connie Craddock
Letty Dewar, présidente
Harold Geller
Ken Kivenko
Alison Knight
Louise Tardif




Connie Craddock

À titre d'ancienne vice-présidente des affaires publiques de l'Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM), Mme Craddock a acquis une grande expérience des questions liées aux investisseurs canadiens. Mme Craddock possède également de l'expérience en matière de consultation et de communications au sein des entreprises et du gouvernement.

Depuis qu'elle a pris sa retraite de l'OCRCVM, Mme Craddock s'est jointe au conseil du Gilda’s Club, un organisme sans but lucratif dont le mandat est d'aider les personnes touchées par le cancer. Elle fait aussi du bénévolat en alphabétisation des adultes.

Mme Craddock possède une maîtrise en droit de l'Université Concordia et est titulaire de diplômes de l’Université McGill et de l'Université de Montréal.




Letty Dewar
Présidente

Mme Dewar œuvre dans le secteur financier depuis 1984, et a une compréhension approfondie du secteur des fonds communs de placement et des marchés financiers. Son expérience comprend la planification financière ainsi que la conception, la conformité et les activités des produits de RÉR collectifs. Elle a agi à titre d'agente de conformité principale pour une société de fonds communs de placement importante. Par la suite, elle a été chef de l'exploitation pour un groupe de gestion de portefeuilles qui administrait environ 19 milliards de dollars en fonds communs de placement.

Depuis sa retraite, Mme Dewar est membre du comité de gestion de portefeuilles de la CFA Society Toronto (présidente de septembre 2014 à septembre 2016). Elle est membre du CFA Institute, de la CFA Society Toronto et du Genesis Club de Toronto.

Mme Dewar a obtenu le titre d'analyste financière agréée, une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université York et un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université de Toronto.




Harold Geller

Harold Geller joue un rôle moteur au sein du groupe de recouvrement des pertes financières chez McBride Bond Christian LLP et est un expert des questions juridiques qui touchent les conseillers financiers. M. Geller aide les investisseurs dans l'analyse des réclamations et, le cas échéant, dans les poursuites et les règlements des réclamations devant les tribunaux civils et l'Ombudsman des services bancaires et d’investissement (OSBI). M. Geller est un défenseur reconnu des droits des consommateurs pour ce qui est des questions relatives aux investisseurs, ainsi qu'un commentateur du secteur financier et un fournisseur de formation continue.

M. Geller est membre élu de l'Association du Barreau canadien (Ontario) depuis 14 ans et est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Dalhousie. Il siège actuellement au comité exécutif du droit des aînés de l’Association du Barreau canadien.




Ken Kivenko

À titre de réputé défenseur des intérêts des investisseurs, M. Kivenko apporte une vaste expérience en matière de recherche et de défense des questions touchant les investisseurs particuliers. Il est président et propriétaire de Kenmar, une entreprise qui aide les investisseurs dans le règlement des différends. Il a également créé un site Web très utile : www.canadianfundwatch.com. (en anglais seulement).

M. Kivenko a obtenu un baccalauréat en génie électrique et un diplôme en gestion de l’Université McGill et est Fellow de l’American Society for Quality Control et membre de l’Association des ingénieurs de l’Ontario. De plus, il est président du comité consultatif de l’Association pour la protection des petits investisseurs.




Alison Knight

Alison Knight a démontré tout au long de sa carrière un engagement envers la défense des droits des consommateurs et la participation des intervenants. Mme Knight est membre à vie du Conseil des consommateurs du Canada et ex-membre de son conseil d'administration. Elle a siégé au conseil d'administration d'un grand nombre d'associations professionnelles, d'organismes de réglementation et d'organismes sans but lucratif, et a occupé des postes de cadre supérieur au sein d'entreprises du secteur des services financiers.

 

Mme Knight est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université Queen's et est Fellow de l'Institut des comptables agréés de l'Ontario.



Louise Tardif

Avant de prendre sa retraite en 2008, Mme Tardif a mené une carrière de 22 ans à titre de conseillère en placement au sein de la Financière Banque Nationale où elle était également directrice de la succursale d'Ottawa. Elle siège actuellement à quelques conseils d'administration, notamment le conseil des fiduciaires de l'OP Trust, un régime de retraite qui gère plus de 16 milliards de dollars d'actifs. Mme Tardif est également présidente du conseil du Bureau des services à la jeunesse d'Ottawa et vient de terminer un mandat comme Gouverneure de l'Université d'Ottawa où elle présidait le Comité des finances et de la trésorerie.

Mme Tardif est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en commerce et d'une maîtrise en sciences des religions de l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle est actuellement candidate au doctorat à la même université.