Investors

Disclosure Documents


Public companies and investment funds are required to prepare various disclosure documents. These documents provide key information to investors about the company or fund, and the securities they issue.

Key disclosure documents  
Public companies   Investment funds  
  • Annual information forms
  • Financial statements
  • Management information circulars
  • Management's discussion and analysis (MD&A)
  • Material change reports
  • News releases relating to material changes and earnings releases
  • Prospectuses
In addition, certain insiders are required to file reports of insider transactions relating to the company's securities. 
  • Annual information forms
  • Annual proxy voting records
  • Financial statements
  • Independent review committee reports
  • Management information circulars
  • Management reports of fund performance (MRFPs)
  • Material change reports
  • News releases relating to material changes
  • Prospectuses and simplified prospectuses
  • Quarterly portfolio disclosure
 

Disclosure requirements

Securities regulators have requirements for when and how information must be disclosed. This is to help provide investors with timely and accurate information to make informed investment decisions.

Most disclosure documents must be filed with securities regulators. Some disclosure documents for investment funds do not have to be filed, but must be posted on the fund’s website or sent to investors free of charge upon request. Examples are quarterly portfolio disclosure and annual proxy voting records.

The fact that documents are filed with the OSC does not make the company or fund immune from fraud or mean it is a “good” investment. Investors still need to carefully choose their investments and who they deal with.

See the OSC’s Reporting Issuers List for a list of public companies and investment funds that are required to file disclosure documents in Ontario.

If requirements are not met

If a public company or investment fund does not file a disclosure document on time, it will be placed in default on the Reporting Issuers List. The list can also tell you if a company or investment fund is in default of other disclosure requirements.

The OSC also conducts reviews of selected disclosure documents to check whether disclosure requirements are being met. For example, if a disclosure document contains incorrect information, we may require the company or fund to refile or correct the document. If this happens, the company or fund is placed on the OSC’s Refilings and Errors List.

Depending on the nature and severity of the default, we may take further action. For example, we may issue a cease trade order or take enforcement action.

Where to find disclosure documents

You can find disclosure documents filed by public companies and investment funds on the following websites. The documents are available free of charge.

  • SEDAR. Public companies and investment funds in Canada generally must file their disclosure documents on the System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval (SEDAR) website. You can use SEDAR to find profiles of companies and investment funds, and their disclosure documents.
  • SEDI. “Reporting insiders” of public companies must file reports of their trading on the System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders (SEDI) website. They are also generally required to report grants and exercises of stock options and similar instruments under stock-based compensation arrangements.

    A reporting insider generally is an insider who has routine access to material undisclosed information about a public company and significant influence over that company. “Insider” is defined under securities law. Directors, senior officers and significant shareholders of public companies are examples of people who are considered reporting insiders under securities law.

    The insider reporting requirements generally apply only to insiders who are also reporting insiders. However, it is illegal for any insider of a company to trade or tip on material undisclosed information they have about the company.

For more information:


Related - Reporting Issuer List | Refilings Errors List | Information for Companies: Filing Documents Electronically | IFRS | XBRL

Investisseurs


Documents d'information


Les sociétés ouvertes et les fonds d'investissement sont tenus de préparer divers documents d'information. Ces documents offrent des renseignements essentiels aux investisseurs concernant un fond ou une société ainsi que les valeurs mobilières qu'il ou elle offre.

Principaux documents d'information  
Sociétés ouvertes   Fonds d'investissement  
  • Notices annuelles
  • États financiers
  • Circulaires d'information de la direction
  • Rapports de gestion
  • Rapports de modification importante
  • Communiqués de presse concernant d'importantes modifications et la publication des résultats
  • Prospectus
In addition, certain insiders are required to file reports of insider transactions relating to the company's securities. 
  • Notices annuelles
  • Dossier annuel de votes par procuration
  • États financiers
  • Rapports du comité d'examen indépendant
  • Circulaires d'information de la direction
  • Rapports de gestion
  • Rapports de modification importante
  • Communiqués de presse portant sur d'importantes modifications
  • Prospectus et prospectus simplifiés
  • Information trimestrielle sur le portefeuille

Exigences de divulgation

Les organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières ont des exigences concernant le moment de divulgation de l'information et la façon dont cela doit être fait. Ces exigences permettent de fournir aux investisseurs des renseignements opportuns et exacts pour qu'ils puissent prendre des décisions d'investissement éclairées.

La plupart des documents d'information doivent être déposés auprès des organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières. Certains documents d'information émis pour les fonds d'investissement n'ont pas à être déposés, mais doivent être affichés sur le site Web du Fonds ou envoyés gratuitement sur demande aux investisseurs. L'information trimestrielle sur le portefeuille et les dossiers annuels de votes par procuration sont des exemples de documents.

Le fait qu'une société dépose des documents auprès de la CVMO ne signifie pas qu'elle est à l'abri de la fraude ou qu'elle constitue un « bon » placement. Les investisseurs doivent tout de même choisir avec soin leurs placements et les personnes avec lesquelles ils traitent.

Consultez la Liste des émetteurs assujettis (Disponible en anglais seulement) pour obtenir une liste des sociétés ouvertes et des fonds d'investissement tenus de déposer des documents d'information en Ontario.

Lorsque les exigences ne sont pas satisfaites

Lorsqu'une société ouverte ou un fonds d'investissement ne déposent pas un document d'information à temps, la société ou le fonds est inscrit par défaut sur la Liste des émetteurs assujettis (Disponible en anglais seulement). Vous pouvez également savoir grâce à cette liste si une société ou un fonds d'investissement ne remplit pas d'autres exigences de divulgation.

De plus, la CVMO procède à des examens des documents d'information sélectionnés pour vérifier s'ils répondent aux exigences de divulgation. Par exemple, lorsqu'un document d'information contient des renseignements inexacts, nous pouvons exiger que la société ou le fonds dépose à nouveau le document ou le corrige. Dans un tel cas, la société ou le fonds est ajouté à la Liste des erreurs et des documents déposés à nouveau de la CVMO.

D'autres mesures peuvent être prises en fonction de la nature et de la gravité du manquement. À titre d'exemple, nous pouvons émettre une ordonnance d'interdiction d'opérations ou prendre des mesures coercitives.

Où trouver les documents d'information

Vous pouvez consulter les documents d'information déposés par les sociétés ouvertes et les fonds d'investissement sur les sites Web présentés ci-dessous. Ces documents sont accessibles sans frais.

  • SEDAR. De façon générale, les sociétés ouvertes et les fonds d'investissement au Canada sont tenus de déposer leurs documents d'information sur le site Web du Système électronique de données, d'analyse et de recherche (SEDAR). Vous pouvez utiliser SEDAR pour trouver les profils de sociétés et de fonds d'investissement ainsi que leurs documents d'information.
  • SEDI. Les « initiés assujettis » des sociétés ouvertes doivent déposer des déclarations à propos de leurs opérations sur le site Web du Système électronique de déclaration des initiés. Généralement, ils sont également tenus de déclarer l'attribution ou la levée d'options d'achat d'actions ou d'instruments semblables en vertu d'ententes de rémunération en options d'achat d'action.

    Un initié assujetti est généralement un initié ayant régulièrement accès à de l'information importante non divulguée concernant une société ouverte ou ayant une importante influence sur cette société. Le terme « initié » est défini en vertu du droit des valeurs mobilières. Les administrateurs, les cadres supérieurs et les actionnaires importants des compagnies ouvertes sont, par exemple, des personnes considérées comme étant des initiés assujettis en vertu du droit des valeurs mobilières.

    De façon générale, les exigences de divulgation des initiés s'appliquent aux initiés qui sont également des initiés assujettis. Il est toutefois illégal pour tout initié d'une société d'échanger de l'information non divulguée sur la société qu'il a en sa possession ou de donner des conseils relativement à cette information.

Pour de plus amples renseignements