About the OSC

Branches & Offices


The Commission is supported by an Executive Director & Chief Administrative Officer and approximately 480 staff working in 15 branches and offices.

Operating branches

Compliance & Registrant Regulation – responsible for regulating firms and individuals who are in the business of advising or trading in securities or commodity futures, and firms that manage investment funds in Ontario.

Corporate Finance – responsible for regulating reporting issuers other than investment funds and for leading issuer-related policy initiatives. The OSC establishes the regulatory framework for securities offerings in the public and exempt markets, as well as take-over bids, and we monitor compliance through ongoing reviews.

Derivatives – responsible for developing a regulatory framework for over-the-counter derivatives trading in Ontario.

Enforcement – responsible for investigating and litigating breaches of the Securities Act (Ontario) and seeking orders in the public interest before the Commission and the courts.

Investment Funds and Structured Products – responsible for regulating investment products that offer securities for sale to the public in Ontario, including mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, structured products and scholarship plans.

Market Regulation – responsible for regulating market infrastructure entities (including exchanges, alternative trading systems, self-regulatory organizations and clearing agencies) in Ontario and for developing policy relating to market structure and clearing and settlement.

Offices

General Counsel’s Office – an in-house legal, policy, strategy and risk-management resource to the OSC. It also oversees organizational integrity and ethical conduct.

Office of the Chief Accountant – supports the OSC in creating and promoting a high-quality framework for financial reporting by market participants.

Office of Domestic & International Affairs – provides advice and support to the OSC in its dealings with other regulators and governments, both in Canada and internationally.

Office of the Investor – leads the effort to identify and understand investor issues and concerns through investor outreach and research initiatives, and ensures investor issues and concerns are considered and addressed in the policy and operational activities of the OSC. This includes working with the Investor Advisory Panel and the Investor Education Fund to support their efforts.

Office of the Secretary to the Commission – supports the Members of the Commission in their statutory mandate as regulators and as a board of directors by providing counsel on adjudicative matters and administrative law, corporate law and corporate governance.

Strategy and Operations – assists the OSC in the delivery of its strategic goals and priorities through policy advice, research and project planning, and by support for the OSC’s business planning, policy prioritization and risk management processes.

Support branches

Communications & Public Affairs – supports and facilitates timely and effective communications to keep stakeholders informed of OSC priorities, policies and actions.

Corporate Services – supports the effective operation of the OSC through a diverse set of systems and services, including financial management (including planning, reporting and treasury), administration and office services, facilities management, information technology, library and knowledge management, procurement, and records and information management.

Human Resources – provides the OSC with strategic and operational advice and services relating to the planning, acquisition, development and engagement of OSC talent, and the planning and administration of the OSC's total compensation plan, performance management and overall organization development.

À propos


Directions et bureaux


La Commission est appuyée par un directeur général et chef des services administratifs et quelque 480 employés travaillant dans les 15 directions et bureaux.

Directions opérationnelles


Bureau des investisseurs – fixe l’orientation stratégique et dirige les efforts de la CVMO en ce qui concerne la mobilisation, l’éducation et la sensibilisation des investisseurs et la recherche auprès de ceux-ci. Fait aussi en sorte que le point de vue des investisseurs soit pris en considération dans l’élaboration des politiques et les autres activités.

Direction de la réglementation des personnes et compagnies inscrites et de la conformité – responsable de la réglementation des sociétés et des particuliers qui fournissent des conseils ou effectuent des opérations sur valeurs mobilières ou contrats à terme sur marchandises ainsi que des gestionnaires de fonds d'investissement en Ontario.

Direction du financement des sociétés – responsable de la réglementation des émetteurs assujettis autres que les fonds d'investissement et de la direction des initiatives concernant les politiques relatives aux émetteurs. La CVMO définit le cadre réglementaire des placements de valeurs mobilières sur les marchés public et dispensé, de même que des offres d'achat visant la mainmise, et surveille la conformité au moyen d'examens réguliers.

Direction des instruments dérivés – responsable de l'élaboration d'un cadre réglementaire pour les opérations sur instruments dérivés négociés hors cote en Ontario.

Direction de l'application de la loi – chargée de mener les enquêtes et les poursuites relatives aux infractions à la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (Ontario) et d'obtenir des ordonnances d'intérêt public devant la Commission et les tribunaux.

Direction des fonds d'investissement – responsable de la réglementation des produits d'investissement qui cherchent à vendre des valeurs mobilières au public en Ontario, notamment des fonds mutuels, des fonds inscrits en bourse, des produits structurés et des régimes de bourse d'études.

Direction de la réglementation des marchés – responsable de la réglementation des entités d’infrastructure de marché (dont les bourses, les systèmes de négociation parallèles, les organismes d'autoréglementation et les agences de compensation) en Ontario et de l'élaboration de politiques relatives à la structure des marchés, à la compensation et au règlement.

Bureaux


Bureau du chef du contentieux – ressource interne de la CVMO en matière de questions juridiques, de politiques, de stratégies et de gestion du risque. Il supervise également l'intégrité organisationnelle et la conduite éthique.

Bureau du chef comptable – appuie la CVMO dans la création et la promotion d'un cadre rigoureux en ce qui a trait aux rapports financiers présentés par les participants au marché.

Bureau des affaires canadiennes et internationales – offre des conseils et du soutien à la CVMO quant à ses relations avec les autres organismes de réglementation et les gouvernements, tant au Canada qu'à l'échelle mondiale.

Bureau du Secrétaire de la Commission – appuie les membres de la Commission dans l'exécution du mandat que leur confère la loi à titre de membres d'un organisme de réglementation et d'un conseil d'administration en leur offrant des conseils sur des questions d'arbitrage et de droit administratif, de droit des sociétés et de gouvernance d'entreprise.

Direction de l'analyse économique, des stratégies et de la planification de projets – aide la CVMO à réaliser ses objectifs et ses priorités stratégiques par le biais de conseils en matière de politiques, de la planification de la recherche et des projets et du soutien des processus de planification des activités, de priorisation des politiques et de gestion du risque de la Commission.

Directions de soutien


Direction des communications et des affaires publiques – soutient et favorise la communication opportune et efficace afin que tous les intervenants demeurent au courant des priorités, des politiques et des mesures de la CVMO.

Direction des services généraux – appuie le fonctionnement efficace de la CVMO à l'aide d'un ensemble diversifié de systèmes et de services, dont la gestion financière (planification, rapports et trésorerie notamment), les services administratifs et de bureau, la gestion des installations, la technologie de l'information, la gestion des bibliothèques et des connaissances, l'approvisionnement et la gestion des documents et de l'information.

Direction des ressources humaines – fournit à la CVMO des conseils et des services stratégiques et opérationnels liés à la planification , à l'acquisition, au perfectionnement et au recrutement de son personnel, ainsi qu'à la planification et à l'administration de son régime de rémunération globale, à la gestion du rendement et au développement général de l'organisme.